|Other County Histories | Civil War | 1886 | 1913 Vol. 1 | 1916 | Depression | 100 Years ||
Livingston County History
Celebrating 150 Years, 1821-1981
Published by The Retired Senior Volunteer Program
The Chillicothe Branch of American Association of University Women was organized in 1930 with fourteen Charter members: Corrine Fay, Faye Stewart, Mabell Cranmer, Virginia Botsford, Katherine Carlstead, Evangeline Wiley, Dorothy Bohn, Jennie Davis, Nancy Chapman, Mildred Morehead, Irene Roberts, Fae England, Josephine Norville, and Clara Milbank.
The organization’s purpose is to promote higher education for women and to provide college educated women with further opportunities for education, enrichment and action. The organization has sponsored book fairs, style shows, international dinners, and other events to support the AAUW Fellowship and Centennial programs which provide financial help to women pursuing advanced degrees. Miss Mabell Cranmer presented a $1500 scholarship honoring Dr. Blanche Dow of Liberty, Association president. Miss Francyl Rickenbrode also left a bequest to the fund. Named gifts of $500 each have been given in the names of Irene Roberts, Lena Smithson, Lycia Martin, Mabell Cranmer, Jean Miquelon and Ruth Seiberling.
Women who have served as AAUW presidents since 1930 are: Corrine Fay, Jennie Davis, Gladys McCall, Clara Milbank, Marie Miller, Grace Allen Boehner, Mary C. Preston, Evangeline Wiley, Beatrice Patek, Mabell Cranmer, Isabelle Ruddy, Mrs. Ronald Smith, Dorothy Meinershagen, Mary Pegues, Jean Miquelon, Ruth Seiberling, Peggy Chapman, Jeanette Mansur, Cleta Gibson, Betty McCoy, Ellen Miller, Lena Smithson, Fran Kaye, Lycia Martin, Betty Don Ernst, Pat Maiorana, Mary Lou Jackson, Pam Russell and Barbara Burton.
The AAUW was instrumental in setting up the Fine Arts Council and they sponsored the first Fine Arts Fair held in 1962 under the guidance of Mrs. Joan Krautmann, who later served on the State Fine Arts Council.
Margaret (Peggy) Chapman was elected Missouri Division President of AAUW in the 1963-65 Biennium, having previously served on the Missouri Division Board. Other Chillicothe members who have served on the Division board are Gladys McCall, Lycia Martin and Ruth Seiberling.
The Chillicothe Branch entertained the State Division at their biennial conference in April 1960, when Cleta Gibson was branch president. Jean Miquelon served as convention chairman, and Elizabeth Bates directed a pageant depicting the history of AAUW.
In 1974 the Branch sponsored a four night “Woman Today” seminar for women of the community to discuss the changing role of women in today’s world. A number of the study topics have been toward expanding women’s consciousness such as “Woman in Search of Self”, and “Women as Agents of Change”. The Branch has supported the candidacy of women for the local school board, and a member, Billie Fair, served as the first woman on the board for two three-year terms, beginning in 1970.
The membership of AAUW peaked in the late 1960s and early 1970s with 100 members. In 1980 there are 57 members. Mrs. Barbara Burton is president, Judith Shoot is first vice-president and program chairman; Pat Botts is second vice-president and membership chairman; and Letty Newkirk is third vice-president and publicity chairman. Kathy O’Bryan is secretary and Janet Hartline is treasurer. Study topics for this year are “Families Facing Change”, with Marsha Dedrick as topic chairman; and “Managing Resources for Tomorrow” with Billie Fair and Joan Krautman as topic chairman.
In 1980 for the first time AAUW awarded a local scholarship of $250.00 to a Chillicothe High School Senior. Diane Douglas was the winner, and the dictionary award went to Sheri Reeser.
Shortly after World War I a group of veterans met and decided to form an American Legion Post in Chillicothe to take in all of Livingston County. The Organization would benefit all veterans to ensure that veterans would be taken care of, as well as their families and dependents. The first meetings were held in the city hall and the courthouse. The names of two Chillicothe boys killed in France in 1918 were submitted. They were Captain A. M. Elliott and Vern R. Glick. After a vote Vern R. Glick was chosen. It was the 25th Charter in the state and has been active in the affairs of the community since that time. 11ponsoring Boys State, American Legion Baseball, Oratorical contest and county government.
The charter was signed by 15 members, one of these Emma Evans, was a nurse who had served in W.W. I. Others were: William C. Zirkle, Robert W.
Browning, George H. Powell, Frank C. Gates, Nolan M. Chapman, Joe D. McHolland, Peter O. Rupp, Thomas Chapman, Leroy Van Hoosier, Louis H. Stein, Charles M. Cooper, Frank Batta, Elmer A. Axon, and Don Chapman, Senior. The charter was received July 19, 1919 and Louis H. “Judy” Stein is the only original charter member of the Vern R. Glick Post left. He attends some of the Post Functions and is still in business.
The present officers are Commander, Fred Collins; 1st vice commander, Robert J. Posch; 2nd vice commander, Roy White; Adjutant, Ed Cassity; Finance officer, Billy J. Coleman; Service officer, Russell W. Johnson; Historian, Howard Leech; Chaplain, James E. Ogan; Sergeant of Arms, Charles Merrill. Members of the Board of Trustees are Frank Bonderer, Dick Gilroy, Howard Leech, Kenneth Ross, Cecil Ashlock and Robert Wiehe.
There are nineteen members who have been in continuous membership for sixty-one years. They are: Grover C. Boggs, Frank E. Bonderer, Earl E. Carroll, Herbert E. Danielson (Our oldest Post Commander in Line of office, those preceeding are deceased), Earl Deardorff, Walter Forbis, Harry J. Kolbohn, Howard Leech, Arthur Lisenby, W. M. McClure, Holly W. Mitchell, Albert Pendleton, W. R. Perkins, Anthony L. Pfaff, Stanley R. Scruby, Louis H. Stein, Earle Teegarden, J. W. Tucker, and Murry N. Windle.
For sixty one years the American Legion Vern R. Glick Post #25, has been an active participant of all our Community Programs, and has worked for the veteran, his welfare, his dependents and his education, along with many programs geared to our youth, with our motto “For God and Country” working for the good of our comrades and our country. We have had many leading members of our community active in our American Legion post and hope to have many more as we work for a better America.
Past commanders are: L. Van Hoosier, 1919; Don Chapman, 1919-1920; Herbert Danielson, 1920-21; Irvin Putnam, 1921-22; Lloyd Sinnard, 1922-23; Sam H. Ladensohn, 1923-24; Joe Stewart, 1924-25; Sam H. Ladensohn, 1925-26; G. A. Sutor, 1926-27; Joseph J. Shy, 1927-28; Louis H. Stein 1928-29; H. S. Beardsley, 1929-30; Ernest Shannon, 1930-31; Max Blanchard, 1931-32; Elmer D. McCollum, 1932-33; Herbert Parsons, 1933-34; Ben 0. Jones 1934-35; Harry Mahr, 1935-36; C. C. Cooke, 1936-37; Frank E. Bonderer, 1937-38; Anthony Pfaff, 1938-39; Fred Carlton, 1939-40; Aurel Popham, 1940-41; J. Rex Donovan, 1941-42; William Killian, 1942-43; H. Earl Barnes, 1943-44; V. A. Collins, 1944-45; Donald M. Dowell, 1945-46; Robert Mahr, 1946-47; G. K. Meinershagen, 1947-48; Lloyd Relph, 1948-49; Earle Teegarden, 1949-50; Arthur Norman, 1950-51; John Neal, 1951-52; John Kaye, 1952-53; Ronald Somerville, 1953-54, Ray Cusick, 1954-55; Robert Wiehe, 1955-56; Cecil Ashlock, 1956-57; Russell Hughes, 1957-58; Leo Englert, 1958-59; Gilbert Oertwig, 1959-60; Flick Girdner, 1960-61; Clarence Archer, 1961-62; Richard M. Gilroy, 1962-64; William McCarthy, 1964-66; Howard Leech, 1966-67; Holly Mitchell, 1967-68; Melvin Baugher, 1968-70; Harry Kolbohn, 1970-71; Harold Wood, 1971-72; Edward L. Cassity, 1972-73; Virgil Hallenburg, 1973-75; Alvin J. Lyon, 1975-76; Edward L. Cassity, 1976-77; Franklin Bonderer, 1977-79; Fred Collins, 1979-81.
The American War Mothersis a National organization, and originated in 1917, from the Food Conservation Clubs of World War I. Alice French, of Indianapolis, Indiana, founded it by soliciting Mothers of servicemen to form a club, known as “The War Mother’s.”
On September 29, 1917, 200 mothers met in Indianapolis, to organize the first chapter. In August, 1918, the first convention was held, and a National Constitution and By-laws was adopted. Alice French was elected the first president.
The adopted Constitution provided: that to be eligible for membership a mother must be a citizen of the United States; the blood mother of a serviceman or woman, during World War I.
The American War Mothers was incorporated by a Special Act of Congress on February 24, 1925, and was given a Congressional Charter. The Charter was amended, by an act from Congress, in 1942 to include the Mothers of World War 2. In June 1953, another amendment went to Congress for approval to include all mothers of service personnel of all wars.
The objectives of the organization are: to keep alive, and develop, the spirit that prompted World service; maintain the ties of fellowship born of that service; assist andfurther any patriotic work; inculcate a sense of individual obligation to our country, state, and community; work for the welfare of the armed forces; assist within our ability, the men and women who served,were wounded, or incapacitated in wartime; foster and promote understanding and friendship between America and her allies.
In 1926, The American War Mother’s was granted the privilege of raising over the Capitol of the United States, their service banner of World War I. It is the only emblem that is ever flown there beneath the “Stars and Stripes.”
Since 1925, the War Mothers has been in charge of the services at the “Tomb of the Unknown” in Arlington Cemetery each Mothers Day.
Missouri has 30 American War Mothers Chapter in the State. There are five Veterans Hospitals in the State in which the chapter members can do personal volunteer work, or the chapters may send financial assistance to the State Hospital Fund to be distributed by the V.A.V.S. representatives, also a lot of mothers serve hours and hours of volunteer work in the hospitals.
Missouri has had one National President, Mary L. Brewer, of Rolla, Missouri, and at the present time, Missouri has a first vice-president, Ethel Rubick, of Kansas City, who will be the 1981-1982 National president.
Chillicothe Chapter, No. 23, American War Mothers was organized May 12, 1943, by Mrs. Olive Fay, and assisted by Mrs. Elva Patrick, of Brookfield. Mrs. Fay was elected the first president, and Mrs. Esther Mace was the first vice-president. There were 103 charter members. Some of the chapter presidents have been: Olive Fay, Esther Mace, Winnifred Boehner, Era Barnes, Georgia Butler, Laura Kesler, Nina Barnes, Mabel Mergenthal, May Archer, Gertie Wilson, Nellie Cox, Rosa Smith, Agnes Slee, Cora Miller, Dora Vorbeck, and others. Helen Roath is the 1980-1981 president. Eligible new members are always welcome.
-- Cora Miller
The Autumn Leaves Club was organized October 16, 1967, for the purpose of providing Senior Citizens, over sixty, an opportunity to enrich their lives and to participate in programs and activities of the community.
Seventy-eight names were signed as charter members, with Mrs. Harold Inman as the first president. She served two years.
W. H. Hamilton was honored at the first birthday party as having been the most useful member. He was responsible for getting many of the merchants to offer discounts.
The ministers have been devoted to the organization and bring a message each meeting day. They are extended an invitation to the Christmas party and luncheon.
Various church groups and Extension Clubs furnished cup cakes or cookies for the first four years to supplement the sack lunches.
In 1972 the Salvation Army provided rooms and helped to equip a craft center for senior citizens. Seventy people attended the open house and soon many classes were in progress, such as knitting, ceramics, candle making, egg carton craft, etc.
The VFW Hall was the first meeting place for the club, rent free. When the building became unavailable in 1972 a move was made to Park View Heights. Birthday Anniversaries and Christmas meetings were usually held at the American Legion.
Autumn Leaves Club has participated in many community projects: quilt to Historical Society, quilt and bake sale benefit for Coburn Building, donations to cancer, heart, kidney, Peter Pan, gifts and visitation to nursing homes. During the early 70’s, the club served an active role selling shares and memberships for OATS bus.
Carnations are taken to hospitalized members and cards are sent. In case of death of a member a red rose is taken to the family. Also a memorial is held at club.
There’s no “generation gap” nor lack of variety when it comes to good entertainment. Examples are: Sunday School Kindergarten Classes, grade schools, three generation family group, foreign exchange students, church groups, barber shop fiddlers, attorneys, travelog slides and films.
Mrs. Iva McDaniel, born September 7, 1878, and Edith Stone, born September 9, 1883, are the two oldest mothers. M. H. Melton, born November 14, 1878, and Jarrott Whyte, born March 5, 1886, are the oldest fathers. Mr. Whyte has a perfect attendance record for 1980. Mrs. Stone and Mr. Melton are charter members. He has not been able to attend recently.
The club’s second president was Mrs. Fred McCullough who served three years. Mrs. Charles McCarthy was president during 1973 and 1974, and William F. McCarthy 1975 and 1976. Mrs. McCullough was again elected and is still serving. Other officers now serving are: 1st Vice - Mrs. Jarrott Whyte; 2nd Vice - LaVee Barnes; Secretary - Mrs. Archie Campbell; Treasurer - J. W. Moore; Corresponding Secretary - Melba Williams; Program Chairman - Mrs. J. W. Tucker; Hostess - Mrs. John Tolle; Hospitality - Miss Faye Long.
The Autumn Leaves Club is looking forward to helping Charter Members, Rev. and Mrs. A. G. Thurman, celebrate their 75th wedding anniversary. They were married December 24, 1905.
“Autumn Leaves” was one of the many poems written by John Hoyt, a long time member of Autumn Leaves. -- Ethel McCullough
The Rebekah Lodge as used today, was built and used by the IOOF Lodge No. 428 in the late 1800’s.
The Avalon Rebekah Lodge No. 855 was started May 12, 1954. The following were charter members: Doris Bowes, Alta Dust, Flossie Keeler, Eliza Osgood, Ruth Osgood, Minnie Hoyt, Earl Osgood, Mary Dott Lisenby, Daisy Pennington, Lois Mantzey, Frances Mitchell, Grace Van Eaton, Dorthy Beever, Mary Foxworthy, Alma Runge, Edith May, Inez Davis, Minnie Duncan, Addie Mace, Bert Hoyt, C. L. Foxworthy, Theresa Denker, Jeanette Hussey, Frances Deardorff and June Clute. (A man can belong to the Rebekah’s but a woman can’t belong to the Odd Fellows)
Along about the early 1950’s the Odd Fellows started failing but the Rebekah’s started to slowly build the Lodge back up. The first year or so they didn’t have a kitchen or rest room or even an outside one. The school cafeteria was across the street in the building which is now the home of Mr. and Mrs. Alvie Watson. It was used for social activities of the Lodge members, work was started to fix the building. Chili suppers were held, members sold cards, and had bake sales to raise money. All work was done by the members. Things were slow but some progress was made.
Major improvements that had been made in the past twenty-five years have been: tiled floor downstairs, painted walls, two rest rooms, put in city water, a new gas furnace downstairs, painted and roofed the building, new curtains, storm windows upstairs, good used refrigerator and electric stove downstairs, tables, folding chairs and a lot of other necessary items.
Those that use the Lodge Hall are: Livingston Co. Coon Hunters, Cemetery Association, Township Board, County and School elections. It is rented for showers and family gatherings, and used to serve families when there is a funeral near by, Avalon Busy Bee’s 4-H put their display in the windows and use the lawn for local achievement. The Rebekah’s meet two times each month every 2nd and 4th Wednesday.
Members of Rebekah Lodge as of January 1980: Annabelle Bachman, Etha Barnhart, Lucy Bennett, Doris Bowes, Nellie Bowes, Reba Burnside, Geraldine Figg, Lorene Garber, Tabitha Gilbert, Anna Houston, Doris Hussey, Julia Hussey, Alta Johnson, Eliza Osgood, Ruth Osgood, Virginia Pilcher, Mina Russell, Myri Teasley and Lois Jones.
Boy Scouts came to Livingston County as early as 1912 or 1913, according to some who were members of that first troop. The Boy Scouts of America was chartered by Congress and came to America in 1912, so in only two to three years, the movement started in England by Sir Baden Powell found it’s influence being felt here.
A group of men came from the east and held a meeting with a group of boys of Scout age in the Luella Theater in 1912 or 1913 and from this was started the first Boy Scout troop in Livingston County. The Rector of the Grace Episcopal Church, Rector Homburg is remembered as being the first Scoutmaster.
Some of the boys in that first troop were Palmer Milbank, Irvin Putnam, Virgil Wanamaker, Mac Henry, Grant Ashby, and Ralph Hicks, according to the recollection of Herb Danielson, also a member of the troop.
This first troop operated for a couple of years before disbanding, probably because of World War I, or the lack of a district or council organization to back it up.
The next Scout troop was organized in 1921 or 1922 and former Postmaster Joe Stewart was the Scoutmaster. There was no connective Scout organization in the area at that time, and Mr. Stewart had to send all his requests for information, badges, and supplies direct to the national organization at 2 Park Avenue, New York, New York.
During the intervening years, the Boy Scouts of America had organized by region and councils, and the Pony Express Council at St. Joseph came into being with H. Roe Bartle and later Lester B. Miller as Scout Executives. Districts were organized on county basis and we became the Livingston District.
During the years that followed, Joe Stewart, Judge Ira Beals, E. F. Allison (Supt. of Schools), Jack Marshall, Father Owens, Roy Lambert, Dee Sherrill, Holton Rickenbrode, Arnold Wade, Flick Girdner, Taylor Dowell, Lloyd Ogan, Earle Teegarden Sr., Bill Watson, Dr. G. K. Meinershagen, W. L. Shaffer, Wm. N. (Bill) McCoy, Vincent Moore, Dr. W. C. (Chad) McCoy, and many others kept Scouting going.
Many organizations have sponsored units over the years, St. Columban’s Church, Kiwanis Club, Lion’s Club, Rotary Club, V.F.W. Post, American Legion Post, Elm Street Methodist Church and Dewey School. Groups of individuals sponsored units in Wheeling, Avalon, Dawn, Mooresville, and Utica at various times.
In 1952 the Ma-Has-Kah district was formed, which included the Livingston District with the counties of Mercer, Grundy and Livingston. Later it was enlarged to include Caldwell, Daviess, and Harrison. Currently it includes Livingston, Grundy, Mercer, and Harrison.
As of December 1980 there are nine Scout units operating in Livingston County: Cub Scout Pack 502 of Utica, Mooresville, Dawn and Ludlow; Pack 122 sponsored by the Revised Church of Latter Day Saints; Pack and Troop 120 of the United Methodist Church, Pack and Troop 121 of St. Columban’s Church; and Pack, Troop, and Explorer Post 123 sponsored by the Chillicothe Lion’s Club. Some 350 boys are involved in Scouting in the county. -- Vincent Moore Historian
The Chillicothe Business & Professional Women’s Club, organized February 23, 1925, presented Charter No. 620 by Alma Lohmeyer, National Vice-President, with thirty-five Charter members.
1927 State Convention held in Chillicothe. Assisted in the organization of Clubs in Trenton, Brookfield, Marceline, Macon.
The following have served the Missouri Federation: Dr. Vera L. Young - State President 1928 - 1930; Mary Hawkins, and Kate Buckman, and Audrey Newman, respectively, Corresponding Secretary; Margaret James Oliver - District 1 President 1936 1938; Louise Seidel - Recording Secretary 1939 1941; later Dr. Gladys Ingram - Health chairman advancing to 3rd Vice-president; Willa Jane Smith Director of District 1 1958 - 1960, Legislative Chairman 1960 - 1962 & 1963 - 1964, Recording Secretary 1962 - 1963 & 1965 - 1967; Ruby L. Robbins - District I - East Director 1971 - 1973 presented the Marjorie Garansson District Award, and represented the Federation at the 12th International Congress, Edmonton; Eunice Cassity - District 2 Director 1979 - 1980 & 1980 - 1981.
Rosa Simmer - State Essay Award 1962-1963; Bosses’ Essay Awards to Patricia Taylor 1978-1979 and Marjorie Tompkins 1979-1980.
B P W Woman of the Year Awards - Willa Jane Smith, Lora Helms, Mildred Poppenhagen.
A few of the Clubs activities:1955-1975 sponsored Easter Seals; 1961-1962 remodeled Ladies Rest Room at the Court House, and a Course in Medical Self-help; 1958-1959 Fund for Educational Loans; Bicycle Safety Class; 1965-1966 $100. For Library Fund and First Place Awards on Tray Favors at the M. H. A. Convention; 1968-1969 sponsored the winner, Kitty Hofheins, for the Jaycees Wives “Outstanding Young Woman” Contest, and July 16, 1969 observed the National Federation’s Golden Anniversary with an Inter-City Luncheon at the Strand; 1970-1971 took fourth place in the Christmas Parade winning $25.; 1971-1972 sponsored Miss Recil Skinner the first Runner-up in the Missouri Federation’s Young Careerist Contest, and sponsored Susan Kent, who became “Miss Missouri Rural Electric Queen” winning $50.; 1972-1973 raised $265; purchased four platform Rockers for the Hedrick Medical Center; 1975-1976 sponsored a “Personal Planner” Booklet and celebrated the Clubs “50th Anniversary” with an Inter-City Meeting with the State President - Hazel Korhing, present; 1976-1977 took part in the “Spirit of 76” Fourth of July Parade, sponsored a “Bi-Centennial” Zip Code Directory, contributed to the “Jerry Litton” and “Rupp” Memorial Funds; 1978-1979 sponsored a C P R Class; 1979-1980 “Year of the Child” contributed $100. to the Peter Pan School Fund, and honored Eunice Cassity, District 2 Director and Mary Wolf, Young Careerist with a Tea in Miss Niday’s home. 1967-1980 contribute to American Field Service and 4-H & F F A Fair programs; 1968-1981 “Senior Girl of the Month” project & the “Young Careerist” Program.
Past-presidents: 1925-1927 - Dr. Vera L. Young; 1927-1928 - Mrs. J. H. Bauer; 1928-1929 - Kate Williams; 1929-1931 - Margaret James Oliver; 1931-1932 & 1945-1946 - Ada Mae Thomas; 1932-1933 - Kate Buckman; 1933-1934 & 1939-1941 - Louise Seidel Michael; 1934-1936 - Dr. Gladys Ingram; 1936-1938 - Illa Summerville; 1938-1939 1942-1944 - Eva Lee Vosseller; 1941-1942 - Janet Hyre/L. S. Michaels; 1944-1945 - Clara Welch; 1946-1948 - Mabelle Mowry; 1948-1950 - Jewell Dowell; 1950-1951 - Violet Houser; 1951-1953 – Opal White; 1953-1955 - Eunice White; 1955-1957 – Willa Jane Smith; 1957-1959 - Elizabeth Ellsberry; 1959-1961 - Annabelle Hunt Lowry; 1961-1962 - Mildred Poppenhagen; 1962-1963 - Rosa Simmer; 1963-1965 - Hazel McWhirter; 1965-1966 – Fern Clodfelter; 1966-1967 - Faye Humphreys; 1967-1968 - Pearl Mitchell; 1968-1970 & 1976-1977 - Ruby L. Robbins; 1970-1971 - Hazel Baldwin; 1971-1972 - Betty Barrows; 1972-1973 - Alvina Fullerton; 1973-1974Kay Sommerville; 1974-1976 & 1977-1979Eunice Cassity; 1979-1981 –Iloe Lambert.
Approved by members June 24, 1980
Written by Mrs. Ruby L. Robbins
The Chillicothe Chamber of Commerce was organized May 11, 1911 and was incorporated under the laws of Missouri, September 25, 1920.
The incorporating officers were C. T. Botsford, president; B. T. Clark, first vice-president; M. F. Bench, second vice-president; Harry W. Graham, secretary; Joseph Walbrun, treasurer.
The original purpose of the Chamber was to foster, support and assist any movement or activity which means for the social, industrial, agricultural, benevolent, commercial, educational and religious betterment of the community and the general public.
The above wording was changed in 1975 to read: The Chamber is to promote, foster and encourage the industrial, commercial, civic, educational, sociocultural betterment and economy of the Chillicothe area; to create and maintain a compact representative and centralized agency for concerted action upon all matters affecting the betterment of conditions and the general welfare of Chamber members. The Chamber shall be non-sectarian, non-partisan and nonsectional.
Officers for 1980 are:
President Ed Turner
Vice-Pres. Doug Burton
Treasurer Bill Welch
Past-Pres. Armand Peterson
Exec. V.P. Ralph L. Moore
Dr. Jim Eden
Betty Don Ernst
Sometime in the early “gay nineties” seven friends decided to go in for higher learning. The Chautauqua Course and Magazine were interesting to many at this time so they subscribed for the magazine. They met once a month with their mending, knitting, darning while one member read from the magazine.
This program failed to satisfy the members so the Chautauqua Course, an intensive course of history, art, travel, literature and science was discontinued because it would take four years to complete.
The membership was increased until in the spring of 1898 there were 28 faithful members, who, having completed the course looked for more worlds to conquer. All through the summer of 1898 the subject of a women’s club to take the place of the Chautauqua Circle was discussed whenever two or three women were gathered together.
Mrs. Joshua Williams called a meeting in her home in the early autumn. Over 20 women responded and Chillicothe Culture Club was born. The motto “Unity in things necessary, Liberty in what is doubtful, And charity in all things” was adopted.
The club met every Wednesday at 2:30 beginning in October through May with programs on current topics, music, readings, papers and book reviews. Each member prepared and presented her own programs. They soon joined the State Federation of Women’s Clubs. In 1899-1900 Mrs. L. E. Tracy and Mrs. Katherine Leaver were the first delegates to the state meeting. In 1904 the club entered the General Federation and 1920 the City Federation was organized with Mrs. Harry Minteer, a Culture Club member, as its first president. Mrs. Frank Fay of Culture Club served as president of City Federation as well as secretary of the State Federation.
During World War I and II each member helped in the various war efforts.
Culture Club has had a limited membership so it has not increased much numerically, but during the 82 years of its existence as Culture Club plus the eight years as Chautauqua Circle, it has greatly aided every movement for the moral, educational, and civic betterment of Chillicothe. This body of women has the highest ideals and motives and has left its impressions throughout Chillicothe’s later history.
Under the leadership of Mrs. Edmund (Joan) Krautmen, the Chillicothe branch of the American Association of University Women sponsored a one-day Fine Arts Fair in November, 1962. It was a combined effort of the cultural groups and facilities existing in our community, and professional exhibits from other sources. The success of this one day event proved that there was and is a place and a need for more such cultural events in this area.
From the impetus furnished by this very successful one-day Fine Arts Fair, a non-profit organization was formed in December 1963, called, The Chillicothe Fine Arts Council, Inc. In February, 1964, by-laws were adopted and officers and directors were elected. John Irvin was elected president and Mrs. Krautman was given the office of executive vice-president. Robert A. “Bob” Smith was a vice-president and was largely responsible for arranging a plan for financing. His “Membership Plan” has proved extremely successful with only minor alteration during the past years.
Months of preparation went into the first week-long Fine Arts Fair held in April, 1964. Drama, films, music and visual arts were included in the varied program and merchants mounted displays of the Grand River Historical Society in the Downtown store windows.
An art and photography exhibition was held at the Armory all week, with a reception for Fine Arts Council members and the Missouri Governor’s Committee on Arts, artists, and visitors. Missouri University concert band held a concert at the Chillicothe High School Auditorium on Sunday, the first day of the fair.
A lecture by Giles M. Fowler, motion picture editor of The Star, was given and the film, “LaStrada”, was shown. The Hollander String Quartet from “Young Audiences” performed at various schools and gave a coffee concert at Bishop Hogan School.
The middle of the week was Painters Day with judging of amateur exhibits by William Unger and Melvin Olson of Kirksville State college. The film, “The Bridge”, was shown at the Ben Bolt Theatre.
The Chillicothe Community Orchestra performed and there was a concert by the Madrigal Singers of Washington University of St. Louis.
A film study, “Hamlet”, was held at the Livingston County Memorial Library. The week ended with a play, Shakespear’s “Julius Caesar”, by the Kansas City Circle Theatre which was performed on a special stage at Bishop Hogan High School.
John Irvin, first president of the Fine Arts Council, has continued his fine work for the organization. Through his company, Irvinbilt, he constructed and stored the display standards that were used at the art exhibits and also helped Arrow Rock with stage enlargement needed at the Ben Bolt Theatre. John also served a six-year term on The Missouri Council on the Arts and served as a member of the Board of Directors of the Mid-America Arts Alliance.
The 1965 Fine Arts Fair was the full week of April 25th to May 2nd. There were three events that deserve special mention. 1. There were two performances of the Glass Menagerie by the Missouri Repertory Theatre (University of Missouri at Kansas City). 2. The Arrow Rock Lyceum Players presented “Arsenic and Old Lace” at the Ben Bolt Theatre in July, 1965. An Arrow Rock Lyceum production has been brought to Chillicothe each year. “Godspell” was the production in July, 1980. 3. On the 13th day of October 1965, legislation became effective establishing The Missouri State Council on the Arts.
The Chillicothe Fine Arts Council is very proud of the fact that Chillicothe was selected as the site for the road production of “Madame Butterfly” by the Lyric Theatre of Kansas City on October 19, 1965. This was not only the first performance of the Lyric outside of Kansas City but the first co-sponsorship between the Missouri State Council on the Arts and a local organization. It played to a capacity audience.
At this point, additional credit should be given to Joan Krautmann. In addition to her leadership, from which resulted the one-day Fine Arts Fair, and the founding of the Chillicothe Fine Arts Council, she was on a committee that promoted the passage of legislation to establish the Missouri State Council on the Arts and was also appointed to serve a three year term as a member of the council.
The Chillicothe Council has been very appreciative of the financial help that has been furnished by the Missouri Arts Council during the past sixteen years. In some years additional financial help was received from the National Endowment for the Arts, a federal agency, and the Mid-America Arts Alliance.
An art exhibit of four to six days was held each year, beginning in 1964 and continuing through 1979. The Armory on North Washington Street was used as the exhibit site along with downtown, Southtown and Park Center shopping center buildings.
There was always an interesting Artist-In-Residence who gave art demonstrations at the exhibit along with visits with the arts classes at the Chillicothe Schools. Attendance at the exhibits varied from 1350 to 3800.
Each fair grew in size during the seventies. School groups came fro ml all of the public schools in Chillicothe as well as the parochial school. Also, bus loads of youngsters arrived from the outlying Livingston County areas.
The artists over the two decades have worked in many media. Some of the more popular were pottery work, water coloring, metal sculpture and oil painting.
The guest artist usually followed a plan of visiting the schools for demonstrations during the day, and them demonstrating for the public in the evening at the fair.
The work of area school children has always been of special interest at the fair. Art classes in all the schools are encouraged to participate in the exhibits. The art work in each media is judged upon request, and one year a high school senior won the grand prize of best work exhibited at the show.
The growth and support that was so evident in the late sixties and seventies is expected to continue through the eighties.
-- Bob Smith
The Chillicothe Garden Club was organized in April, 1952 with 101 charter members. Any person living in Chillicothe or vicinity who is interested in gardening is eligible for membership and the fee for many years was $1.00. Because of the rise in prices for carrying out Garden Club projects the present membership fee is $1.50.
The purpose of the Garden Club is to stimulate interest in gardening, to further knowledge of gardening and to use the knowledge to create beauty for others to share.
Two meetings a month are held on the first and third Tuesday, beginning with the Membership Tea in March through the first Tuesday in October. The members enjoy many activities throughout the summer. The flower show which is held annually is an outstanding event and is free to the public. The beautiful specimens and arrangements are judged by qualified people and ribbons and trophies are presented as awards for outstanding exhibits.
Some of the trips recalled with interest are the one to Lexington where mansions rich in Missouri history were visited; to Kansas City to see some of the beautiful lawns and gardens of residents there; to St. Joseph where a bus load of Chillicothe members were met by members of their club and escorted on a tour of some of their gardens; to Meadville to see the floral display in Mr. Hatch’s garden; three trips to Kansas City to take the Wellesley Tour, and the yearly tours to visit gardens of Chillicothe homes.
Some of the beautification projects sponsored by the Garden Club include yard contests, flower boxes and baskets in the downtown area, planting of iris, and tulip bulbs at the south entrance to the city; erection of a white picket fence at Simpson Park announcing that Chillicothe is a Garden Club city; conducting the public dedication ceremonies of the Fair Oaks Roadside Park near Utica and the Manuel Drumm Park at the Chillicothe airport and holding a Clean-up week annually in cooperation with the city.
Early in the history of the club the red bud tree was selected for the city tree and the Eutin Rose for the flower. Evidence of these projects are seen throughout the city. In the spring of 1954 the club bought and planted three hard maples at the northeast corner of the hospital grounds and in 1975 planted eight dogwood on the south slope of Simpson Park.
At one time the Garden Club published and sold a book called “Garden Gimmicks” that contained general hints on the care of lawns, vegetable, and flower gardens.
In addition to the flower show the members enjoy a Garden Breakfast each year; a guest day, a spring plant exchange, a little rose show, and an arrangement and specimen showing at each meeting. A flower distribution committee takes flowers to shut-ins. Membership remains above 100 each year.
The first officers of the Garden Club were Mrs. F. M. McCall, president, Mrs. Ed Saale, vice president; Mrs. Earl Bradbury, treasurer, and Mrs. H. M. Hunt secretary. Present officers are President, Mrs. George Troeger; first vice-president, Mrs. Charles Fleener; second vice president, Mrs. Moren Jenkins; treasurer, Mrs. Tom Oliver; and secretary, Mrs. George Newbolt.
Organizing the Chillicothe Hospital Auxiliary was a project of the City Federated Clubs, which took place May 24, 1954, City Hall, with the following officers being installed: Mrs. Allen Moore 11, president, Mrs. Prentice Barnes, 1st-Vice, Mrs. Ada Cooke, 2nd-Vice, Mrs. Buel Staton, 3rd-vice, Mrs. Leroy Boehner, treasurer, Mrs. Tom Oliver, secretary, Mrs. Russell White, corresponding secretary, Mrs. Clyde Harper, president of City Federated Clubs, ex-officio member.
Other past-presidents: Mrs. Joseph Clark, Mrs. L. F. McWhirter, Mrs. Agnes Sweeney, Mrs. Rudy Eschenheimer, Mrs. George Cooper, Mrs. Ruby L. (Chester) Robbins, Mrs. Letha (Ralph) Marsh, Mrs. Evelyn (Earl) Griffith, Mrs. Shirley Thompson, Mrs. Neysa (Allen) Longenecker, Mrs. Jeri (Earl) Weeks, Jr., Mrs. Ramah (John E.) Hill, Mrs. Elnora Braun, also president for 1980-1981.
The members have purchased many items for the hospital and have served as hostesses for many functions along with projects of landscaping, library service, switchboard operation, sewing, interior decorations and in 1962, Junior Improvement League by Mrs. Eschenheimer, which became Candy Stripers in 1965, with Mrs. Hugh Innis as chairman. In 1965, Gift Shop or Cart, Gift Table at the Membership Tea and the Scholarship Award by Mrs. Robbins with Martha Rupp being the first recipient, since then there have been thirty-five other girls and Dr. Lycia Martin has served as chairman since 1968. Contributions have been made to this fund by Mrs. Anna Hill, by others and by several memorials.
In 1966, Mrs. Robbins and Mrs. Wm. Schauer started the ARC Hospital Volunteer Program.
Tray favors, a project of Mrs. Agnes Sweeney, won second and first place among the displays at the Missouri Hospital Association’s “Auxiliary Day”.
In 1968, Mrs. Ruby L. Robbins was appointed District-1 Director of Auxiliaries of the Missouri Hospital Association and was a representative at the 70th Annual Convention of the American Hospital Association, Atlantic City, N. J.
Name of Auxiliary transferred to Hedrick Medical Center Auxiliary. -- By Mrs. Ruby L. Robbins
The Chillicothe I.O.O.F Lodge #91 was chartered, May 21, 1856, as a Subordinate Lodge under the jurisdiction of the Grand Lodge of Missouri by C. C. Archer, Grand Master of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows of Missouri. The Lodge owns its own building at 513 Washington Street. The building has three floors, the first floor being leased as a beauty shop and as office space for the MISSOURI Public Service Company. The top two floors are used for lodge purposes.
The Independent ORDER OF Odd Fellows is a Fraternal Organization with branches all over the United States, Europe and many other foreign nations. Odd Fellowship was established in America by Thomas Wildey, who established the first lodge on April 26, 1819 in Baltimore, Maryland. The name indicates an organization of men who are different (odd) in that they are pledged to help each other rather than selfishly pursuing their own way. The emblem is three chain links with the words, Friendship, Love and Truth as being the guides to the ultimate destiny of mankind.
The present officers of the Chillicothe lodge are; Spencer Hawkins, noble grand; HOWARD Simnitt, vice-grand; Hubert Stewart, secretary; Leonard Geier, financial secretary; Homer Stevens, treasurer. Trustees are John Marnmen, Harold Miller and Owen Walker.
The first Chillicothe Rebekah Lodge was organized May 20, 1870.
The first charter of the Chillicothe Rebekah Lodge still hangs on the Lodge hall wall and it reads as follows: Fail not, Falter not, Weary not. Granted the charter on the application of Ben F. Berry, Charles K. Mansur, Charles R. Berry, S. B. Thacker, E. A. Bement, David Burberry, S. England, J. B. Tanner, 1. B. Jones, C. J. Benson, James Grubb, Thomas H. Smith, Samuel Shoak Herman, C. P. Jones, W. H. Missman, J. H. Long, Joseph Hoffmann, A. Mendenhall, S. R. Richards, S. S. Mendenhall, Charles W. Sloan, R. Tisdale, L. R. Hibbner, Mrs. Marie Weaver, Mrs. May Shereve, to establish a degree Lodge of the Daughters of Rebekah of Chillicothe, Missouri in the name of D. March Lodge No. 15 of the said Lodge authorized to confer the degree on the wives and widows of Odd Fellows according to the laws and regulations of the Grand Lodge of the U. S. and the Grand Lodge hereby guarantees to said degree lodge all the rights, privileges and power appertaining to the degree Lodge of the Daughters of Rebekah; the twentieth day of May, 1870, year. Signed C. H. Mansur.
Because of the loss of interest in the Lodge it was reorganized May 23, 1890 and this charter is the charter used by our present Lodge. R. A. DeBolt, Grand Master of the Grand Lodge of the Independent order of Odd Fellows of the State of Missouri authorized by the Grand Lodge to empower our trusty and well beloved brethern and sisters of the Degree of Rebekah. Signed Mr. and Mrs. Z. B. Myers, D. Stewart, Miss Jennie Voris, Mr. and Mrs.J. B. Tanner, Mr. and Mrs. A. T. Benge, Mr. and Mrs. W. H. Missman, Mr. and Mrs. S. England, Mr. and Mrs. S. R. Richards, Mr. and Mrs. F. B. Porter, Mr.and Mrs. F. G. Turner, Mr. and Mrs. W. A. Henderson and Mr. and Mrs. E. W. Moorman, Mr. and Mrs.J. F. Sherman, Mr. and Mrs. J. B. Huffman, Mr. and Mrs. H. Cunningham, Mr. and Mrs. J. W. Pratt, Mrs.W. S. Urgichart, Berry A. Raffa, J. J. Wellis, Miss Sallie England, Miss Lillie England, Miss Annie Stewart, Miss Josie Clem, Miss Sadie Henderson, S. A. Stone, W. B. Coston, D. Hargrave, Charles Grittner, R. H. Haddock, Char!es A. Loomis, H. R. McVey, O. W.Edmonds, C. W. Missman, to be known as Daughters of Rebekah Lodge No. 43, City of Chillicothe, Livingston Co., State of Mo., 23rd day of May, 1890 and of our order of the Odd Fellows of the 72 years. Signed R. A. DeBolt, Grand Master and E. W. Sloan, Grand Treasurer.
The Rebekah Degree was organized and established by Schuyler Cofax, who was born in New York. Mr. Cofax was elected to Congress in 1854. He was elected speaker of the House in 1863. In May 1868 he was elected Vice President on the Republican ticket with General W. S. Grant. -- Patty Turbyfill
The Community Homebuilders Extension Club was organized in May, 1947 at the home of Mrs. George Seiberling, by home agent Miss Ruby Randall. Charter members who still belong to the club are: Mrs. Lena Adams, Mrs. Lena Bowen, Mrs. Bessie Whiteside, and Mrs. Ruth Seiberling.
The club purchased the Swain Schoolhouse when rural schools were consolidated into the Chillicothe system and has maintained it as a club house and community center. They have also assisted in sponsoring the Liberty 4-H Club and have helped with Achievement Days and other 4-H events. Several of the club members now live in Chillicothe, but most are formerly from the Liberty community in Blue Mound and Fairview townships.
Officers for 1980-81 are: President, Mrs. Gary (Joan) Brown; Vice-President, Mrs. Jim (Janet) Schreiner; Secretary, Mrs. Junior (Mildred) Hughes; Treasurer, Mrs. Archie (Helen) Nibarger; Reporter, Mrs. B. B. (Lena) Bowen; Game and Song leader, Mrs. Trenton (Lena) Adams; Cultural Arts, Mrs. George (Ruth) Seiberling; and Health, Mrs. Kevin (Kathy) O’Bryan.
Several members of the club have held office in the County Extension Club Council included are: Mrs. Bill (Mary) Schauer, Mrs. Trenton (Lena) Adams, and Mrs. Jim (Janet) Schreiner.
Concerned Christians is a group of representatives of several churches and other agencies striving to meet needs of the people of the Chillicothe area. In 1967 eighteen members met and formed Concerned Christians to help provide and promote the spiritual, educational, mental and social services for the citizens of the community. The motive was to concretely demonstrate the good news of Jesus Christ and his love to all mankind. As a not-for-profit corporation Concerned Christians serves as a channel through which funds flow from the federal government to the local community.
Concerned Christians was organized in February, 1967, in the Community Room of the State Bank. Mrs. Dorothy Reed was the first president and Father Orlis North was the first vice president. Mrs. Shirley Humphrey was secretary and Lucille Klinefelter was treasurer. Mrs. Iva Williams was the historian. Fifteen churches were represented and they started a community center in a remodeled garage at the corner of Church and Leeper Street. It was called Cornerstone. The entire community worked to remodel the garage. Rummage sales were held and food and donations were accepted to get funds.
Mrs. Lura Heller, a Human Resources Development Corporation employee, was coordinator and had the H.R.D.C. office in the building. Vista workers were a source of help and much involved in the youth 94 program of Concerned Christians. Summer playground programs were sponsored. In 1973 Concerned Christians wrote a proposal for the Retired Senior Volunteer Program and became sponsor for it. Five months later they became the sponsor for the Congregate Meals program which became the Livingston County Senior Center. In 1978 they began to sponsor the Mental Health program and the Chillicothe Counseling Center.
Others who have served as presidents of Concerned Christians have been: Brother James Mabery, Reverend David Norbury, Reverend Don Hoffman, and Mrs. Mildred Bozdeck who is president in 1980. Mr. Earl Teegarden has been treasurer of the organization since its start. Mrs. Lucille Klinefelter and Mrs. Retha Emerick have also held offfce. Mrs. Fred McCullough is secretary at the present time.
Concerned Christians is presently involved in the renovating of the Coburn Building south side into a Senior Center. In recent years they have sponsored the Neighborhood Assistance Program, Crime Prevention programs, day camps, vacation Bible Schools, trips for the underprivileged, Thanksgiving dinners, classes in arts and craft special tutoring, home improvements, UNICEF Drives, Vial of Life Program, and residential on-going mental health counseling.
Concerned Christians remains the enabling organization for many federal programs in the county.
Dawn Lodge #539 Ancient Free and Accepted Masons was chartered and held its first meeting in its building on the North side of Main Street on May 20, 1889 with 29 original members. The lodge was very active and membership soon doubled. On June 19, 1900, the lodge was moved to a building in
Ludlow, there to remain through two world wars and the great depression. On July 8th, 1949, the lodge moved back to Dawn, being upstairs in the Baxter building on the South side of Main Street. Following the death of Brother Baxter, the lodge purchased the building on June 7, 1962, and occupies it to this day.
The Domestic Science Club, M.F.W.C. was organized January 1901 by Mrs. Levi Tracy, the wife of an early physician in Chillicothe, Missouri.
The Club became a member of the State Federation in 1902 and the National Federation in 1924. When this club was organized it was the study of preparation of foods and life in the home, the reason for the name Domestic Science Club. As time passed on, all the clubs were using the programs of Art, Drama, Music, and Literature. These departments are required.
In the early years of the club a contest was conducted by Women’s Magazine, opened to all clubs and a prize given to the club whose drawing of a Modern Kitchen was judged to be the best. Mrs. Robert Stewart, a member of Domestic Science Club sent a plan she had drawn and won the prize for the club. Later it was shown in the magazine.
The club’s refreshments in the early years were elaborate and delicious, now would be called a luncheon, for instance the committee would serve creamed chicken, hot biscuits, a salad and a dessert. Usually, something served was prepared as a demonstration before the club members.
The club took the initiative in advocating and securing Manual Training in the Public Schools. The club managed clean-up campaigns, similar to the Garden Club work now. Flower seeds were given to school children to encourage the beautifying of yards. During World War I the club adopted and supported an orphan girl in France.
Domestic Science Club was very active in supporting the library and visiting nurse programs when they both were just getting started. In the early years Domestic Science club bought the milk for underprivileged children in school. With the help of other clubs, the Domestic Science Club was very active in organizing the Hospital Auxiliary and purchase of an incubator.
In early years, the club gave furniture and cleaned-up the Rest Room in the Court House so people from out of town would have a clean place to rest after shopping. In recent years projects have been to help Peter Pan School, Hope Haven, Cornerstone, Senior Citizens, Concerned Christians, Salvation Army, and in 1978-79 the Senior Citizens Community Center. State project is support for Girls’ Town of Mountain Grove, Missouri, which is a project for all Federated Clubs of Missouri. In observation of Arbor Day, the club has “Penny for Tree Day”, which was mostly $1.00 bills tied to the little tree branch, this was the club’s contribution to the Simpson Park Tree Fund.
There have been four 50 year members, Mrs. J. D. Rice, Mrs. A. W. Cies, Mrs. Raymond Russell and Mrs. Clyde Harper. Three are deceased and Mrs. Clyde Harper is in a Nursing Home in Riverside, California. She is an associate member now, has belonged to this club 65 years. Sixty-nine have died during these 80 years. There are 22 former presidents living and forty-one have passed on. The 1980-82 officers are: Mrs. Eunice White, president, Mrs. Ralph Marsh, vice-president, Mrs. R. B. Taylor, 2nd vice-president, Mrs. Virgil Mason, secretary, Mrs. Mabel Darcy, treasurer, Mrs. John Hill, parliamentarian.
Ladies Auxiliary to Fraternal Order of Eagles, Livingston Aerie 2428, was organized in 1949 by Mr. and Mrs. Vance Magee, with 41 charter members.
First Officers were: Madam President, Nina Magee; Vice-President, Ruth Grouse; Past Madam President, Vera Mast; Secretary, Annalee Taylor; Treasurer, Verlee Garner; Conductor, Elizabeth Schmidt; Chaplain, Florence Williams; Inner Guard, Jeanie Churchill; and Outer Guard, Ina Hoskins.
Meetings were held at various locations in Chillicothe over the past 31 years. Present Aerie home is owned and occupied at 200 East Jackson Street.
1980 Officers are: Past Madam President, Verna Baker; Madam President, Jean Grimes; VicePresident, Ruth Knouse; Secretary, Connie Thompson; Treasurer, Cleo Bondoski; Chaplain, Mildred Allnutt; Inner Guard, Joan Johnson; Outer Guard, Linda McCully; Trustees: Mary Minnis, Rose Marie Woodworth and Dorothy Smith; Conductor, Bessie Blattner.
There are eighty two members with Corinne Thompson the only surviving charter member. Activities are social and charitable.
In the summer of 1929, Mrs. W. H. Brengle, wife of the Rev. W. H. Brengle, of First Baptist Church, was concerned about the young women she knew and she encouraged them to organize a sewing club. Three ladies, Ruth Brown, Blanche McGuire and Florence Parker invited Vera May, Esther Mallen, Bess Coulter, B. Coe, Doris Roach and on June 20, 1929, these ladies organized the Happy Hour Sewing Club.
They embroidered, crocheted and sewed while Ruth Brown read the book “The Woodcarver of Lympus” by Mary E. Weller. They also brought and wrapped gifts for the Industrial Home girls.
By fall, Mrs. Brengle and Mrs. Frank Fay, wife of a Methodist minister, encouraged the ladies to become a Federated Study Club. October 31, 1929 the club organized into the Fact and Fiction Club. The club was federated with the city of Chillicothe, October 31, 1929. Mrs. John May was president; Mrs. Ralph Mallen, vice-president; Mrs. Will Coe, secretary; Mrs. Leslie Coulter, treasurer; Mrs. R. R. Thweatt, corresponding secretary; and Mrs. A. M. Rhoads, reporter.
The name Fact and Fiction was chosen using the fact for learning and fiction for the lighter side. The Constitution and By-laws were approved and adopted. The colors green and white were selected and the flower chosen was a chrysanthemum. The motto was “Slumber not on the tents of your fathers, the world is advancing, advance with it.” The motto today is “Do Your Best.”
In 1930, the club was federated with the state and the GFWC. There were fund raising events including bake sales, rummage sales, selling greeting cards which were sold door to door. The programs through the years have been interesting and informative. A fun event the club enjoyed many times was ‘come as you are parties.’
Through the years the club has taken fruit and presents to the Industrial Home for Girls and to the Infirmary; helped with the USO; helped support a visiting nurse and library; gave quilts and baby clothes and made layettes; supplied milk for school children; subscribed to Pathfinder for the library, and had the Shopping Bag project. They have contributed to the Red Cross; TB Lung Association; Cancer Fund; Girl Scout Little House; Peter Pan State School Dabney School; Sophomore Pilgrimages; American Field Service; Care Program; Salvaton Army; and assisted with the needs of the Welfare Office.
The present membership is 24 and there is a membership limitation of 25. Members of the club are Mrs. Cecil Atkins, Mrs. R. W. Bellamy, Mrs. Hugh Campbell, Mrs. C. C. Canning, Mrs. Hugh Carlin, Mrs. Robert Carrol, Mrs. Roy Dupy, Mrs. Morgan Evans, Mrs. John Evans, Mrs. Harlie Gallatin, Mrs. Lester Gillespie, Mrs. Bob Gipe, Mrs. Hazel Gordon, Mrs. Lorene Grossman, Mrs. L. W. Hurst, Mrs. John Newcomer, Mrs. George Pittaway, Mrs. Ralph Ross, Mrs. Dorland Scott, Mrs. W. L. Wescott, Mrs. Orville Whitacre, Mrs. Ralph Wigfield, Mrs. Lewis Foster, and Mrs. Frank Plumb. -- Jean Carroll
The Extension Club of the Maple Grove and Risley Communities was formally organized October
7, 1936 at the home of Mrs. Charles Austin. To help with the first meeting Mr. Browning and Mrs. Newton Holt came from the Extension Office. Eugene Lee had talked about the clubs at a meeting at Maple Grove School earlier in the year. Twenty-two women were charter members and six young women were associate members. They included: Mrs. Charles Austin, Mrs. Carl Hawkins, Mrs. Russel Barlow, Miss Ethel Hawkins, Mrs. Raymond Bradley, Mrs. Robert Kirtley, Mrs. Frank Cramer, Mrs. Edward Murphy, Mrs. Herbert Cramer, Mrs. Charles Morse, Mrs. John Cramer, Mrs. Clint Neal, Mrs. George Culling, Mrs. James Needles, Mrs. Ira Culling, Mrs. James Regan, Mrs. Ralph Dome, Mrs. E. F. Shields, Mrs. Guy Hamilton, Mrs. Roy M. Shields, Mrs. A. P. Hawkins, Mrs. Curt Thompson, Miss Ruth Barlow, Miss Virginia Cramer, Miss Irene Murphy, Miss Helen Thompson, Miss Jewell Regan and Miss Hope Thompson.
Meetings were held twice a month for many years. Mrs. Austin was the first president and at one time was County Council president as was Mrs. Charles Morse.
For a period of years the Club actively supported the Molo-Bethel 4-H Club. Today, the Club is a social club and meet once a month but continues to support the 4-H and F.F.A. Fair.
Over the years comforters have been made for people who have lost homes by fires. Many things have been made for the children at Mercy Hospital. Other projects have included Ditty Bags for soldiers, work shirts for the Red Cross, favors for hospital trays and the young women made stencils and painted mail boxes. Yes, many things were done because the members were Friendly Neighbors first, then a club.
Sorosis was organized in Chillicothe, October 13, 1900.
In New York City, a group of women organized a club in 1868 and called it “Sorosis”, from the Greek word, “Soru”. They chose mulberry for their color and the pineapple for an emblem, meaning, many flowers bound together into one. It is also a symbol of hospitality, a motif used by silversmiths and craftsmen and adopted in many shapes and forms.
Mrs. J. W. Hawley was the organizer in Chillicothe, and its president for twenty years, when it flourished as a study club.
Among civic contributions in the early days, were nutritional aid to needy school children, support for the library, which was housed in a residence, and the important support for the visiting nurse. Various ways were used by Sorosis and other clubs to finance these undertakings.
There are three other Sorosis clubs in Chillicothe, the “Juniors,” “Tria” and the “Pledges,” a high school age group, sponsored by Tria. To get to know each other and to share our mutual interests, we plan meetings with each other during each club year.
The budget includes contributions to MFWC projects and scholarships provided annually to Missouri University for: Special Education, School of Forestry, School of Law, Mental Health, Music and Music Therapy. Many other programs are benefited.
“Girls Town”, a special project of MFWC,’was established in 1954 for homeless girls. A new facility has been started to accommodate a large number of girls.
The Sophomore Pilgrimage to the State Capitol, is a priceless remembrance for those who have been chosen to attend.
The budget includes local contributions to American Field Service, which sponsors exchange students from foreign countries. They have given us outstanding and informative programs every year. Camp Rainbow for the handicapped, has also been supported for many years.
Recently Sorosis was happy to help in the building of the new Peter Pan School, a special effort of the Knights of Columbus, of Chillicothe, who rallied the whole town, and were able to complete the building with generous contributions of time, labor and money.
So, from the original study club members have changed with the times. During the year, programs are planned to include a wide variety of interests. The state federations supplies and recommends programs on: Conservation, Education, Fine Arts, Home Life, International Affairs, Public Affairs, Free Enterprise and others.
Many, many, happy and fun times together come to mind, as Sorosis reviews 80 years of history.
Girl Scouting in Livingston County has been increasingly active in this century especially in the last decade. In 1944, which is the oldest record that can be found, the officers were Mrs. Belmont Bradley, commissioner; Mr. Otis C. Korslund, treasurer; and Mrs. Ross Diehl, registrar. Some women who were active before this charter were: Mrs. Ed Dolan, Mrs. John Rupp, Sr., and Mrs. Paul Rupp, Sr. Among others who contributed to Girl Scout leadership were: Mrs. Jessie Wright, Mrs. Ernest Wood, Mrs. Lloyd Ogan, Mrs. Lee Jackson, Mrs. Lee Fitchett, Mrs. John E. Yeomans, and Mrs. James Maberry.
One of the most significant boosts to our program was the drive to raise $9,000 in 1957, to build the Little House in Simpson Park. This land, 11/2 acres, was donated by Murrey Windle. The successful drive was headed by Ed Wolter. We had approximately 350 scouts registered then and we were in dire need of a central meeting place. A year after we had constructed the building it was suggested by National that we join Midland Empire Girl Scout Council in St. Joseph, Missouri. This necessitated turning over our assets to the Council. This met with opposition from some of those leaders who had worked on the drive. However the advantages of this merger would be profitable to us, including professional assistance, and help with maintenance and training. Women who were active in Scouting during this 1959 merger were: Mrs. Mike Alt, Mrs. Emory Brown, Ms. Ann Cleaveland, Mrs. Jo Shy, Jr., and Mrs. Bill Coleman.
Some distinctions Neighborhood Twenty has had are: Delegates to National Conventions - 1972 in Dallas, Susan Murphy and Charlene Coleman and 1978 in Denver, Paula Coleman. Some trips that girls have taken are: Soul Flaritage New York, New York a GSUSA - sponsored opportunity, Kathy Campbell; Maine Schooner Trip and Our Cabana, Becky Thatcher G.S. Council sponsored trips and HikeA-Peak at Nat’l Center West, Ten Sleep, WY, a GSUSA - sponsored opportunity, Rosemary Teegarden. The Community Action Patch has been earned by: Norma Hussey, Janet Thompson, Dana Thompson, Paula Coleman, Charlene Coleman 4nd Cindy Meek. Our Council Trainers are Charlene Coleman, Mary Dusenberry and Eleanor Schmidt. 1980 Council Board of Directors are Janet Thompson and Renetta Teegarden. A selection was published in the 1980 Senior Handbook by Paula Coleman. Council Program Services Committee members are: Charlene Coleman - 1972-1980; Eleanor Schmidt 1975-1978; Paula Coleman 1977-1979; Mary Dusenberry 1978-1979. Counselors at Camp Woodland Albany, MO have been: Paula Coleman, 1977-1979; Becky Ernst, 1978-1979; Janet Thompson, 1978; Barbara Wolf, 1980; Shelly Hussey, 1979; Counselor for Heart of Missouri G.S. Council Lake of the Ozarks, in 1966 was Donna Jo Weston. Counselor for Dogwood G.S. Council Ozark, Missouri in 1972 was Christa McCoy; Claudia McCoy took her Counselor in Training in 1972 in Becky Thatcher G.S. Council Hannibal, Missouri. Jane Moss in 1972 took her Counselor-in-Training at Heart of Missouri G.S. Council Lake of the Ozarks and was on staff at a Camp Siedeman Girl Scout camp near Leon, Kansas in 1973-1975. Participants in the 1978 Wyoming Trek to National Center West, Ten Sleep, Wyoming were: Paula Coleman, Sherri Meek, Melanie Eden, Mary Beth Schnitkner, Janet Thompson, Barbara Schmidt, Eleanor Schmidt, Charlene and Bill Coleman. The Thanks Badge, which is the highest award for adults, has been awarded to Carol Ingraham, Pat Meek, Betty McCoy and Charlene Coleman. Our Neighborhood has earned the distinction of selling the most cookies in our council the past three years. Norma Hussey, our Neighborhood Cookie Chairman, reports that in 1980 we sold 1,306 cases or $19,590.00 worth of cookies at $1.50 a box.
We are proud that Neighborhood 20 has had the largest Senior Troop that has ever been registered in this council and as far as records indicate in this country. Under the direction of Betty McCoy, Charlene Coleman, Eleanor Schmidt and Terry Wedlock there are 80 registered in the troop this year. Our most recent achievement has been a new bridge built behind the Little House the Fall of 1980, by Lloyd Wedlock Construction Company. Poles for the bridge were donated by Farmers Electric Cooperative, Inc. Dedication was December 2, 1980.
Neighborhood 20 Service Team members are: Mrs. Earle Teegarden, Jr., Neighborhood Service Unit Director; Mrs. Trent Gann and Mrs. Don’ Tullos, Organizers for Chillicothe schools; Mrs. Ralph Ratliff, Organizer for Southwest school at Ludlow; Mrs. Lois Turner and Mrs. Thomas Olson, Brownie Troop Consultants; Mrs. Richard Canterbury, Junior Troop Consultant; Mrs. William Hulett, Cadette Troop Consultant; Mrs. Dale Price, Senior Troop Consultant; Mrs. M. R. Dusenberry, Program Consultant; Mrs. Floyd Gabel, Registrar; Mrs. Jack Hussey, Secretary; Mrs. Don St. John, Publicity; and Mrs. Bill Coleman, Camp Promoter. In October 1980, we had nearly 300 girls register in 17 troops and 134 adults. There are 10 Brownie Troops, 5 Junior Troops, 1 cadette, and 1 senior. For the past seven years Neighborhood 20 has offered a Summer Program for Girls. The girls have had the opportunity to take a variety of classes including macrame, horseback riding, swimming, crafts, singing, learning about Girl Scouts around the world, and ceramics. Also, for the past eight summers Neighborhood 20 has held a five day Day Camp at Ki-Li-Ro-Co, which is a camp for youth of Chillicothe, located northwest of town about five miles. Renetta Teegarden has been the director or assistant director all eight years. The last several years we have served about 200 girls in Livingston and Caldwell counties at this Day Camp.
Hundreds of other people in our community have contributed to the successful and exciting world of Girl Scouting whose goals are to honor God, Country and Mankind.
-- By Charlene Coleman and Renetta Teegarden.
On August 26, 1945, LIVINGSTON Baptist Association met at Zion Baptist Church, a camp site for R.A.’s and G.A.’s was being sought, and it was announced that the old Campbell’s Country Club was available. It consisted of 57 acres, a lodge hall made of hewn logs, a caretaker’s home and several cabins, located 4 and one-half miles N.W. of Chillicothe on the banks of Grand River. The price was $7,000.
An option on the property would cost $500.00, but no money seemed available. A blind man, G. W. Midyett from Missouri Valley Association rose and said he felt led to offer $500 that he had laid aside for burial purposes. Others spoke up and money was raised and a motion was made to appoint a committee and empower them to secure an option of six months on a proposed camp site. The committee appointed to secure the option was Lee Steen, Burl Beckner and Rev. A. S. Day.
By June of 1946, the assembly had progressed, pipe lines were laid, electricity installed, 200 beds had been purchased, and kitchen equipment obtained. Campers brought their own blankets and pillows and the first assembly was held in a large tent on July 4, 1946. Thirty-five thousand dollars was paid on the 98 debt the first year with A. S. Day as president and Lee Steen as treasurer. Those attending that first assembly shared the beginning of something that has become a great blessing to this area of our state, as many a young person has found and accepted the Lord Jesus Christ there. The camp ground was incorporated in 1955. In 1968, the Assembly board composed of fifteen cooperative Associations in North Missouri commended Howard Judah of Maryville for his seven years service as president and Herman Shiflet for his 17 years as treasurer. Earl and Inez Moore are the present caretakers. We are proud of “Grand Oaks” and hope the future will make it a greater blessing than in the past.
In the summer of 1954, George W. Somerville, a Chillicothe resident, since 1921, with a reputation as a Missouri historian, began conversations that led to a called meeting that November, to set up a temporary organization for the founding of a historical society and museum for Livingston County and the surrounding area.
This meeting was attended by Mr. and Mrs. Somerville, Mrs. Ira Hedrick, Miss Roberta Perrine, Howard Rion, Joseph Stewart, Miss Kate Johnson, Miss Mabel Cranmer, Mrs. Alice Kesler, Mrs. John Elliott, Mr. and Mrs. Julius Meinershagen, Mrs. Harriett Casebeer, Harry Cole, Bill Cole, Kirk Marshall, Leo Hopper and William Stilwell. Mr. Somerville was elected president of the new society, Mrs. Hedrick vice-president, R. S. Casebeer, second vice-president and Leo Hopper, secretary-treasurer. The name of Grand River Historical Society and Museum was adopted, by-laws written, and the purpose stated, “to provide a place for the safekeeping of articles pertaining to the history of this area.” Mr. Somerville served as president of the society from 1954 to 1966 and the society became well established as an educational and service organization to the community.
Mrs. Catherine (Meek) Racine served as president from 1966 to 1968, Earle S. Teegarden Sr. served part of the term of Mrs. Racine’s and the following year. Harry Cole was president 1969-1970 and Howard Leech has served as president from 1970 to the present year, 1980. Leo Hopper served continuously as secretary-treasurer to 1977 and then as treasurer to the present.
In 1969, the society was granted the use of rooms, rent free, in the remodeled library located in the former government building and post office at 450 Locust. Historic items were received and exhibited here as the beginning of the museum collection of the society.
In 1972 the Society was bequeathed a $25,000 gift from the 1. W. Waffle estate, providing the sum would be matched by the community within a ten year period. Also, the residue of the estate would be placed in an escrow account to provide interest income for operation and maintenance of the Museum.
In 1973, a gift of three lots and a 40’x 80’ building on Irving Avenue was received from M. N. Windle.
In 1976, a fund drive, headed by Dr. John R. Neal, was successfully conducted and the money from the Waffle estate was received. The board of directors voted to proceed with a building program to remodel the Windle building and the Irvinbilt Company completed the project in 1978-79.
In the summer of 1979, the museum collection was moved from the library to the new location and the Society held the dedication and formal opening in October of 1979. Judge Ronald L. Somerville, son of the founder, gave the dedication address and Richard S. Brownlee, director of the State Historical Society of Missouri and Mayor Tom Oliver cut the ribbon to make the opening official.
The museum has been dedicated to our forebearers in appreciation of their perseverance, ingenuity, craftsmanship and love of freedom. The museum will serve to perpetrate these qualities to future generations.
Due to the interest of the Hospital Auxiliary members in the American Red Cross Hospital Volunteer program, Mrs. William Schauer, executive secretary of the Livingston County Red Cross Chapter, Mr. Hugh Ennis, hospital administrator and Miss Janet Neel, Red Cross Area representative from Kansas City, met with the Auxiliary Board, and it was decided to take on the project of the Hospital Volunteers, and they named Mrs. Chester F. (Ruby L.) Robbins, who was president of the Auxiliary at that time, as Unit Chairman.
The project got under way on Monday, January 17, 1966 with forty enrolling. Classes were set up and after two days of class work, thirty-seven were presented Certificates on Tuesday, February 1, 1966. They were Mrs. Catherine Beckett, Mrs. Hugh Larkin, Chula, Mrs. George Collins, Mrs. Sherman (Connie) Smith, Mrs. Pearl (Buel) Staton, who can be remembered for her many “Famous German Chocolate Cakes” which were sold by Mrs. Virginia Rion on Radio Station KCHI to aid the Auxiliary Scholarship Fund, Mrs. Evelyn (Earl) Griffith, Mrs. Robert Seidt, Mrs. Fern (Emory) Brown, Mrs. Cathern (George) Darr, Mrs. Elizabeth (Lee) Meek, Mrs. John Duer, Mrs. George Cooper, Mrs. Minnie (Bert) Hoyt, Mrs. William Schauer, Mrs. Helen (Jerry) Broyles, Mrs. C. R. DeLarm, Mrs. Warren Morse, Mrs. Marjorie (Ernest) Beier, Mrs. Alva Mast, Mrs. Bud Howsman, Mrs. Kathryn (George) Churchill, Mrs. Ruby L. (Chester) Robbins, Mrs. Ramah (John E.) Hill, Mrs. Dorothy (Joe) Painter, Mrs. Alta Summerville, Mrs. Elsie (Rudy) Eschenheimer, Mrs. Ruth (Paul) Whyte, Mrs. Bess Lightfoot, seven from Breckenridge - Mrs. Mildred Herrick, Mrs. Norma Newman, Mrs. Katie Curnow, Mrs. Beverly Hargrave, Mrs. Charles Moorshead, Mrs. Jean Scanlon, Mrs. Helen Pitts, from Lock Springs - Miss Helen Cook, and Mrs. Velma Patterson.
With an attendance of over 200 people on Sunday afternoon March 13, 1966 at a Capping Ceremony held at the United Methodist Church, thirty-two of the Volunteers were presented Red Cross Caps. Those not completing the required Hospital service were Mrs. John Duer, Mrs. Rudy Eschenheimer, Mrs. Mildred Herrick, Mrs. George Cooper, and Mrs. William Schauer.
Instructors for the classes were Miss Virginia Botsford, Mrs. Buel Ireland, R.N. director of nurses, Mrs. John Rodgers, LPN, Mrs. Betty (Lyle) Stitt, administrative assistant of the Greater Kansas City Chapter of the American Red Cross.
Dr. George K. Meinershagen was the chairman for the Livingston County ARC Chapter.
Monday afternoon, November 3, 1980 seven ARC Hospital Volunteers, who will have completed fifteen years in January of 1980 were presented Certificates and fifteen year pins. They were Mrs. Catherine Beckett, Mrs. Ernest Beier, Mrs..Evelyn (Earl) Griffith, Mrs. Ramah (John E.) Hill, Mrs. Minnie (Bert) Hoyt, Mrs. Ruth (Paul) White and Mrs. Ruby L. (Chester) Robbins. Mrs. Marge Lytle of the Kansas City Chapter was guest speaker.
Miss Willa Jane Smith is the Livingston County A R C Chairman, Mrs. Mabel G. Banks the executive secretary, Mrs. Evelyn Griffith, chairman for Hospital Volunteers, and Mrs. Ruby L. Robbins, ARC coordinator and auxiliary director of hospital volunteers. -- Mrs. Ruby L. Robbins
The Junior Sorosis Club of Chillicothe was organized and federated (with the Missouri Federation of Women’s Clubs) in 1926. This action was voted in the Sorosis Club due to the interest and effort of Mrs. Jonathan Hawley. Six young girls, daughters, sisters or nieces of Sorosis members, were selected to be charter members; Catherine Sheetz, Betty Booth, Dorothy Orr, Marjorie Barclay, Marjorie Caesar, and Harriet Kirby (who is presently still a member of this club). These girls then selected Nell Shearer, Lois Fee, Jane Lillis, and Mary Holmes. Mrs. Hawley gave the first breakfast in her home in September 1926. In October, eleven more were added to the roll: Susanne Macdonald, Margaret Cameron, Betty Mansur, Lorraine Clark, Ruth Anderson, Virginia Botsford, Dorothy Minnis, Julia Woodson, Elizabeth Peery, Dorothy Tucker and Artis Miller.
The Sorosis color, Mulberry, and its symbol, the pineapple, and the club object, “Mutual Improvement” were adopted. The meetings were held twice a month, in the evenings, and the programs followed a “course of study” adopted for the year. Philanthropy was ever a principle concern. Mrs. Hawley was sponsor for the first two years, followed by Mrs. Oneita (Skeet) Bird. The first president was Catherine Sheetz vice-president, Mary Holmes; secretary, Nell Shearer; treasurer, Harriett Kirby.
The “young ladies” were expected to join the 100 Sorosis Club when age 40 was reached. A group of high school girls were formed as “pledges” to later join Junior Sorosis.
In 1928 the club began giving annual Christmas dances to make money for charities. These were beautiful and popular affairs, which were continued for over forty years. In the early years, the proceeds went for stuffed Christmas stockings for needy children, layettes for use by the county nurse, and help to local libraries. Later, causes were selected each year. Parties have been given, in holiday seasons, for Senior Citizens and Hope Haven workers. Money is given to such worthy causes as Hope Haven Industries, Peter Pan School, and other local charities.
Harriett Kirby, charter member, served as president in 1976, for the club’s fiftieth year. She was earlier president in 1933.
The present officers are Rose Welch Harris, president, (who also served in 1935); Mary Helen Shepard, vice-president; Annabelle Tharp, secretary; and Jerry Beardmore, treasurer.
Junior Sorosis has always enjoyed three lovely parties during the year: a “breakfast” for the traditional opening event in the fall, a Christmas party, and a party in early spring to include all Sorosis Clubs. For some years another party has been added in the spring, to include the husbands.
The club has seen many gradual changes in its 54 years. The enrollment has grown to include forty members; the meeting time has been changed to afternoon; and more than half its members, far from qualifying as “Junior”, are grandmothers! But the same enthusiastic participation in “Mutual Improvement” continues to hold the attention and claim the interest that it did so long ago!
The Chillicothe Kiwanis Club had its official organization meeting on November 17, 1921 at the Leeper Hotel (now Lambert) and the official charter presentation was on Jan. 31, 1922 in the parish house of Grace Episcopal Church. A. E. (Arthur) Gibson was the club’s president and the charter was presented by Gov. E. L. Chase.
In addition to Gibson, first officers of the Chillicothe club were H. A. Hedges, vice president, V. J. Gladieux, secretary; Allen O. Glore, treasurer, and Harry W. Graham, trustee.
The Chillicothe club has been active in many service areas throughout the years and has emphasized boys and girls work. It has helped many underprivileged children, has sponsored Kids Day Parades, marble tournaments and poultry shows when these events were popular, Pied Piper parades, a Boy Scout troop, was a sponsor of Scout Camp Ki-Li-Ro-Co which was dedicated in 1941, and was the first civic club to sponsor free meals for underprivileged school children in days before state and federal assistance. The club purchased the first portable X-ray machine at the Chillicothe Hospital, equipped the first laboratory at the hospital, furnished the first blood typing machine there, and furnished a room in memory of a long-time member, Dr. R. R. Barney. The club has been active in many other areas.
Club presidents have been: 1922, A. E. Gibson; 1923, J. M. Gallatin; 1924, H. A. Hedges’; 1925, A. T. Weatherby; 1926, F. B. Norman; 1927, J. D. Rice; 1928, Dr. Reuben Barney; 1929, A. O. Glore; 1930 Ed McCollum; 1931, Hal Beardsley; 1932, Frank Thierfelder; 1933, Howard Reed; 1934, Dwight Townson; and Roscoe Place; 1935, Frank McCalmont; 1936, H. R. MCCall; 1937, V. E. Stephens; 1938, John Cook, Sr.; 1939, W. B. Jennings; 1940, C. E. Herriott; 1941, Emery Burton; 1942, B. R. Harris; 1943, Dr. M. E. Elliott; 1944, Mort B. Cathey; 1945, Forrest Roberts; 1946, Otis Korslund; 1947, Eldon Hoover; 1948, Ted Barnes; 1949, Don Schooler, Sr.; 1950, Elton Norman; 1951, John Irvin; 1952, Dave Cone; 1953, Robert Kaye; 1954, Roy Youngblood; 1955, Lee Meek; 1956, Sam Long; 1957, Bryce Allen; 1958, Hilton Skinner; 1959, Louis G. Renfrow; 1960, Dr. J. R. Neal; 1961, Walter Miller; 1962, Frank Fendorf; 1963, Neil E. Beardmore; 1964, Roy Rodebaugh; 1965, Bob Moss; 1966, William Altheide; 1967, Bill Stilwell; 1968, Barney Savage; 1969, Don Hofheins; 1970, Vaughn Murray; 1971, Stan Patton; 1972, Earl Weeks; 1973, John Cook; 1974, Bill Maupin; 1975, Don Lancey; 1976, Jim Walters; 1977, John Evans; 1978, Howard Marshall; 1979, Bob Goss; 1980, Lee Larson.
Charter members of the Chillicothe club are: Henry S. Adams, Frank W. Ashby, Dr. Reuben Barney, Frank Batta, M. F. Bench, J. F. Boehner, Don Chapman, Sr., Mervin Cies, F. W. Cornue, J. A. Dailey, Ben Dienst, Dr. N. W. Dowell, H. W. Druen, Dr. M. Dummitt, D. L. Eaton, W. G. Englehart, Frank C. Fay, J. M. Gallatin, A. E. Gibson, V. J. Gladieux, Allen 0. Glore; J. Gordon Grace, Harry W. Graham, A. D. Gray, F. W. Gunby, H. A. Hedges, Virgil B. Hunt, A. E. Mellenger, Bland E. Miller, John U. Mitchell, Byron Morris, F. C. McCalmont, Dr. J. M. McKim, F. B. Norman, W. J. Olenhouse, Dr. C. W. Palm, F. G. Peters, J. D. Rice, M. J. Rice, D. H. Sawyer, Russell Scobee, Roy C. Snodgrass, H. E. Tharp, S. C. Turner, H. H. Warner, 1. W. Atkins, J. E. Watkins, J. A. Wisdom, and Judge A. T. Weatherby.
St. Columban’s Council 1084 was chartered on Feb. 4, 1906. The first Grand Knight was Raymond F. McNally. The known past state officers from St. Columban’s Council are as follows: Ed Saale - State Treasurer, E. J. McClure - State Program Chairman, Raymond F. McNally - District Deputy, Con Clifford - District Deputy, E. J. McClure - District Deputy, Joseph Anderson - District Deputy, Leo C. Hartnett - District Deputy, Vincent J. Wolf - District Deputy.
Supreme Insurance Representatives have been Joseph A. Reardon from 1954 to 1969 and Leo C. Hartnett from 1977 until the present.
During the World War I, the council was active in assisting Brother Knights who were called into service. They supported the War Fund. In 1956 the Council held its 50th anniversary, with William T. Riley the only charter member present.
Many worthy causes have been assisted by the council. In the 1950’s the Notre Dame band was brought to Chillicothe.
In 1952, the council was contacted by Airman Robert C. Trager who was stationed in Germany and requested assistance for German orphans. The council conducted a drive for food, clothing, and toys which were sent to Germany and Brother Trager distributed these gifts. For the past 20 years, the council has been an active supporter of the mentally retarded, and through proceeds from carnivals, birthday calendars, and Tootsie Rolls, has given money to Peter Pan School, Hope Haven, and State School 20 of Chillicothe. State School 20 of this city has been housed in the Knights of Columbus building since 1958.
The council purchased their first permanent home in 1958. The old Field School building, located at Polk and Easton Streets, was purchased at a price of $4,000. To obtain the loan from the Citizens National Bank, 16 members of the council signed a note for this amount. Full payment was made to the owners of the property on September 16, 1958. The 16 members who signed the note were: John R. Thompson, Paul L. Rupp, Frank E. Bonderer, Dr. Joseph C. Conrad, Raymond C. Riley, Don Saale, Louis Holloway, E. J. McClure, Leonard J. Pfaff, Dr. E. T. Dolan, Sherman Smith, Frank Trager, L. F. McWhirter, Henry Zosso, Chris F. Gier, and Francis B. Pfaff.
The Paul Rupp, Sr. Award was started in 1967 and was to be presented each year in October, to a member of the council who contributed outstanding effort to the council for that year. This award was started by Mr. Rupp who felt a member should be honored. Upon the tragic death of Paul Rupp, Jr. and his son, Paul Rupp, III in a plane crash in 1976, the award has been continued by Mrs. Dorothy Rupp in the names of all three of these outstanding men who contributed to the Knights of Columbus and to our beloved St. Columban’s Church.
In April 1979 there was a ground breaking ceremony for the new Peter Pan School and the Knights of Columbus. Grand Knight Bob Trager, Dick Gilroy and others participated.
Peter Pan Center, a development program for the handicapped, at the beginning of its twenty-second year began a new era.
Dick Gilroy acted as sponsor of the drive and he stated that the $83,000 drive would be successful. “The Christian people of the community will build Peter Pan Center,” Gilroy said. Some 100 persons attended the ceremony with city and county officials, members of the Peter Pan organization and the Knights council taking part in th6 symbolic turning of the soil. The building was completed in March, 1980. Classes were begun in Peter Pan on October 22, 1979. -- Leo Hartnett
The Lion’s Club’s first organizational meeting was April 11, 1938. The first Charter meeting was June 30, 1938. The sponsoring club was Carrollton Lion’s Club of which Wade Maupin was instrumental in its organization. The first slate of officers were: President - Ivan Haston, also first District Governor, 1940-41, Vice President - Luster Carter and Hugh Slifer, Secretary - Denver Brittian, Treasurer - George Devers, Tail Twister - F. A. Lionberger, Lion Tamer - Gilbert Olenhouse, Directors - Lee Jackson, John Ford, R. V. (Hippo) Owsley, John Dupy, Flavel (Flick) Girdner, Charles Cornue. Other charter members were: Oke Austin, Earl Crandall, Theron Cruse, Ted Davis, John Ford, Russell Johnson, Herbert Lawrence, Herbert Parsons, Kenneth Sankey, Carl Shirley, Louis Stein, Dick Taylor, Levere Tennison, Harold Way, Walter White, Ernest Wiseman. 1980-81 officers and directors are: President - Dave Seiberling, Immediate Past President - Terry Deatz, 1st v-Pres. – Larry Vaughn, 2nd v-Pres. - Mike Epperson, Sec’y. - Treas. - Larry Gatson, Lion Tamer - Elmer Schnittker, Tail Twister - Lyle Noblitt, Directors - Leroy Mills, Larry Meek, Hugh Campbell, Vern Wiseley.
The Lion’s Club participates in the following activities each year: We contribute to Lion’s Eye Tissue Bank and associate with local Eye Conservation. We own and operate a portable concession stand which we operate at various community events. We sponsored first Chillicothe Balloon Derby (Flight for Sight) and sponsor a Boy Scout Troop. We send band students to Lion’s International Convention and assisted in CROP Community Clean-up. We conduct Radio Day - The Tuesday following the first Monday of March on KCHI Radio, We collect used eye glasses to be turned in to Lion’s International for use by the needy. We sponsor a boy for Boy’s State and we sponsor a girl for Girl’s State. -- David Seiberling
The Livingston Baptist Association was organized on December 6, 1872. There were five delegates from the Chillicothe Church, three delegates from Mt. Pleasant Church, two delegates from Harmony, two delegates from Fairland and six delegates from Zion. The convention was called to order by Elder W. W. Walden of the Chillicothe Church, who was chosen moderator. W. T. Harper, from Harmony Church was chosen clerk, and a permanent organization was set up. In 1875 Utica, Dawn, and Wheeling churches were received into the Association and Union and Pleasant Ridge reported. In 1876 the Farmersville Church was received into the Association. In 1877 the Ebenezer Church was admitted, in 1878, Farmersville Church 102 merged into the Union Church.
The organization stressed mission work, education with contributions to the Grand River College at Edinburgh and William Jewell College at Liberty, and Sunday Schools. The Bethel Baptist Church at Dawn was received in 1884, and in 1889 the Dawn Welch Church, a former member was readmitted, as was the Walnut Grove Church. In 1891, Olive Branch and Bethany Churches were received. In 1894, Northwest Calvary Church was received and the Constitution was changed to read “The Livingston Baptist Association” Chula and Mt. Carmel churches were received in the year of 1895. In 1906 the Vaughn Dale church joined the Association.
In 1920, Hazel Hurst was received into the Association. In 1945, a committee was appointed to secure an option on a camp site known as Campbell’s Country Club. Non-existing churches removed in 1949, were Cambrian, Fairland and Hazel Hurst. In 1951, Chillicothe Calvary Church was admitted. In 1952, Bethany was disbanded. The Avalon Baptist Chapel was organized during the 1950’s. In 1967, the Highview Baptist Church of Chillicothe was received into the Association. In 1964 and 1966 the churches participated in the Australian Crusade and the Missouri Australian Crusade. Mt. Carmel and Avalon Baptist Chapel closed, but several churches including Union, Zion, Dawn, First Baptist, Chillicothe, and Mt. Pleasant had celebrated their Centennials. -- From the First Century of the Livingston Baptist Association 1872-1972
The Red Cross Chapter was chartered on April 4, 1917 as the Chillicothe Red Cross Chapter. On December 7, 1917 the name was changed to the Livingston County Chapter. The petition was signed by Inez Duffield, W. H. Ellett, Dr. H. M. Grace, Dr. A. J. Simpson, T. C. Beasley, J. C. Shelton, 0. P. Clark, Mrs. Ida Bryan Eastman, Josephine Norville and Laura Schmitz. The first officers were: Chairman: Rev. George F. Rixey, Vice-Chairman: Mrs. John Milbank, Second Vice Chairman: Mrs. T. D. Jones, Treasurer: Mr. T. C. Beasley, Secretary: Miss Inez Duffield.
Livingston County Chapter owes its existence primarily to the far sighted vision of Miss Duffield, who had seen the necessity of an organization such as this, and together with Miss Norville had formulated plans for its inception. (Miss Norville, a high school English teacher in Chillicothe for over 40 years, died in 1956). These plans materialized in March 1917. Branches that were established were: Bedford, Central Chapel, Chillicothe Colored, Chula, Dawn, Grace Church, Ludlow, Mooresville, North Chillicothe Township, Rich Hill Township, Sampsel South Chillicothe Township, Spring Hill, Sturges, Utica, and West Cream Ridge.
Through the years the chapter has, served well during war and peace. The Chapter served through World War II, Korean War and Viet Nam War. Many bandages were rolled, garments made, ditty bags assembled and supplies shipped. Mrs. Irma Sigler, executive secretary, received many urgent messages in the middle of the night during World War II and would be accompanied by her daughter, Mrs. Bernard Rupp, to the office on the 2nd floor of the court house and to the depot to send telegrams.
The records are incomplete but it appears that Mr. & Mrs. Harry Patek were the first director & executive secretary. They were followed by Mrs. J. G. Sigler 1942-1953, Mrs. Clarence M. Grace 1953-1956, Mrs. Ernest Hamilton 1956-1962, Mrs. Mildred Hunt 1962-1964, Mrs. William Schauer 1964-1968, Mr. & Mrs. Albert Pendleton 1968-1980 and Mrs. Mabel Banks 1980.
The hospital Volunteer program was started at the Chillicothe Hospital February 1966 with 37 women participating. It was organized by Mrs. Ruby L. (Chester) Robbins. It continues today at Hedrick Medical Center with Mrs. Earl (Evelyn) Griffith as the chairman. The Candy Stripers work through the summer months. The chapter stresses safety in swimming lessons and first aid classes. The American Red Cross occupies a unique place as a popularly supported agency, acting in accordance with the Treaty of Geneva and under charter from the Congress, its service to the Armed Forces and its responsibilities in time of disaster requires that it act promptly and fully in time of emergency. The chapter operates with local contributions and hours of volunteer services.
The National American Red Cross is celebrating its centennial year in 1981, having been organized in 1881 by Clara Barton.
Current officers for 1980 are: Willa Jane Smith, chairman, George Fish, vice-chairman, Dick Gilroy, secretary and Earle Teegarden Jr, treasurer.
The Health Council was a project of the Livingston County Extension Club Council with Mrs. Eddie Lay as president. They thought that there was a need for a Health program that would combine the Health activities of the various clubs and organizations into one group which would work together carrying out the needs of the community. After contacting the County Superintendent of Schools, Howard Leech, the County Home Extension Agent - Mrs. Ruth Lieberam, and a local doctor - Dr. Donald M. Dowell, M.D., they decided that a County Health Council would be the answer.
April 6, 1956, a meeting was held in the County Court Room with representatives from 30 clubs and P.T.A. groups. Officers named were Mrs. Edgar Kohl, R.N. - president, Mrs. Frances (Joe) Kinsella – Vice-president, Mrs. Grace (John) Meek - secretary, Mr. Howard Leech - treasurer, and Mrs. Ruby L. (Chester) Robbins - projects chairman.
The Council received assistance from the Hospital Administrators - Mr. McLeod and Lee Stillwell and from the Missouri Health Council members - P. F. Rector - education director, Mrs. Eva Moen, Chester G. Starr. They aided in the Incorporation of the Council.
Some of their projects were: polio clinics with 507 shots given during the summer and 641 in the fall at the High School, chest X-rays with nearly 5000 persons responding, blood-typing clinics with 1690 responding in the first 24 hour session and 388 in the 103 next session of 16 hours; A Health Unit for Livingston County. Petitions were mailed to 115 Clubs and organizations with the response of nearly 1000 signatures which was more than enough to have it voted on. Judge Frank Bonderer and other members of the County Court and June Morgan agreed that the Health Unit could be voted on in the General Election in the fall. While the group waited for the election they continued to have polio clinics with a report that out of the 5087 eligible children 5015 had been given shots, Mrs. Kinsella, Mrs. Meek and Mrs. Robbins were busy getting news articles concerning a Health Unit ready for the Constitution and Radio Station KCHI. The Health Unit needed a two-thirds vote to pass and it was reported that it failed only by a simple majority.
In 1967, they tried to reorganize the Health Council to work for a Health Unit. However, today we do have a Health Unit. -- Mrs. Ruby L. Robbins
Benevolence Lodge 170 AF and AM at Utica was chartered on May 30, 1857, however meetings were held prior to that date. The earliest recorded meeting was July 17, 1856. John S. Harper was the first Worshipful Master, A. J. Austin was first Junior Warden, and William Hiron was the first Senior Warden. The Centennial was observed in 1957 at the Mooresville High School with a recorded attendance of 258 persons representing 40 lodges in Missouri, Iowa, and Kansas. Hubert Walz was Worshipful Master at the time of the Centennial. Present officers are Otis Ireland, worshipful master; Mike Clark, senior warden; and John Stamper, junior warden. Richard Sidden is secretary. Meetings are held on the second and fourth Mondays of each month in the original Masonic Hall Building.
The Mooresville Community Betterment Association was organized in March of 1977. Each citizen of Mooresville is a member with nine board members being the governing body. The current president is Butch Thomas. Kathy Jones and Betty Mosher are past presidents. The Association is a non-profit organization which does not support any religious or political group. It was established solely for the purpose of bettering the community.
Two major improvements are:
1.Fair Park: On a two acre area located east of town is Fair Park. This was so named in memory of Lester J. Fair for which the land was donated. The park has play equipment in the way of teetertotters, swings, and a basketball goal. There is also a back stop and bleachers where kids spend a good deal of time playing ball.
2. Porter Building: Another accomplishment is a new Porter building which is located on Main Street. It is jointly owned with the Fire Department, township and city.
For the past three years in September the Association has had a fun day. This is a money making project as well as having fun, in the community. Throughout the day there is a parade, baby show, crafts, on display, country store, bingo, cake walk, and a program in the evening. Each citizen does his part on this day and everyone has a good time.
Future plans include modernizing the Porter Building and a shelter house for the park.
Citizens of Mooresville are very proud of their town and community and the accomplishments they have made in such a short time.
The Mooresville Study Club was formed around 1948 after branching off from the Livingston Co. extension club which had been established some years before.
The Study Club is composed of 18 active members. Each member entertains her fellow club sisters in her home and also has the lesson on any subject of interest to her.
The Club meets the fourth Thursday of each month. Winifred McCreary serves as club president. Annually there is a salad luncheon, club picnic, club trip, and a Christmas party.
When death occurs in the community, Mooresville women prepare a meal for the bereaved family. The Study Club is in charge of organizing this service.
The club anticipates to continue for many years due. to the varied activities and endeavors of the club members to present topics of wide spread interest.
In the community of the New York School District, north of Wheeling, a club was organized in 1922, rightly named, “New York Community Club.” Charter 104 members were Mrs. Charles (Rosie) Blust, Mrs. Ernest
(Nellie) Timmons, Mrs. W. H. (Florence) Morrison, Mrs. Carl (Susie) Braun, Mrs. A. E. (Emma) Lawler, Mrs. Sam Moore, Mrs. Elmer Powers, Mrs. Joe Dooley, Mrs. John Fitzpatrick, Miss Coral Goff, Mrs. Katie Kinsella and Mrs. Mel Edwards.
Through the years much help was received through the Agriculture Extension Office. However, the club was not organized as the “New York Extension Club” until spring 1933. Eugene Lee, County Extension Agent, met with a few ladies of the Wheeling area in the Smiley Drug Store in Wheeling and explained the new plan, our club members eagerly adopted this. By having sponsored 4-H work they were becoming more familiar with what was available through the extension work of the University of Missouri. In the late 1930’s the club received a telegram of congratulations from President Roosevelt.
Family parties were a great joy and two a year became the custom. A picnic on the Sunday nearest the 4th of July and an oyster supper on Friday night after Thanksgiving. Since the 60’s the picnic is held in August and the soup supper in January.
In the early days of the club they presented a set of silver tablespoons as a wedding gift to each member getting married. They presented a blanket to each new baby born to a club member. An interesting thing here is that Mrs. Timmons, after she had received her third blanket, made a rule that there should be a limit of three gifts to any one mother. She could have been the recipient of eight.
Our club has ‘been active all through the years except for a brief time during World War II when we thought it more patriotic to go along with the rationing period.
When we reorganized, our new president was Mrs. Jeanne Timmons Coslet, youngest daughter of Mrs. E. W. Timmons. At this time our president is Mrs. Clarence Arthaud. We meet the second Thursday of every month.
Our members at present are: Mrs. Clarence (Luzenia) Arthaud; Mrs. Donald (Lucille) Bauermeister; Mrs. Dean (Carren) Bowman; Mrs. Felix (Helen) Buckner; Mrs. Emmit (Norma) Cummings; Mrs. Steve (Leanna) Howe; Mrs. Robert (Linda) Kimmis; Mrs. Jerome (Janice) Hunter; Mrs. Pat (Dee) Kinsella; Mrs. J. F. (Julia) Lawler; Mrs. Jim (Donna) Lowe; Mrs. Terry (Donna) Littrell; Mrs. Bud (Debbie) Neptune; Mrs. Gilbert (Pam) Romesburg; Mrs. Wayne (Shirley) Seifert; and Mrs. Omar (Bertha) Toedebusch.
Our club motto has always been “To Make This Community a Better Place in Which to Live.”
We try to keep up with what’s new in today’s homemaking and in the world about us, knowing full well that Today’s Home Builds Tomorrow’s World.
Western Style Square Dancing has been popular in the Chillicothe area for the past twenty-five years with a succession of square dance clubs and callers. The present club, known as the Peppy Promenaders dances twice a month and sponsors square dance lessons each year at the ChillicotheVocational-Technical School. The instructor for these lessons is Bob Borgemeir of Kidder, Missouri. Former callers who have worked with the club are Bobby Lightfoot of Slater, Missouri and Dr. Myron Redd of Marceline.
Officers of the Peppy PROMENADERS ARE: President, Clyde and Phyllis Garber; Vice-President, Kenneth and Nancy Fries; Secretary-Treasurer, George and Cleva Roth; Reporter, John and Dottie Yeomans.
Warren and Rozelle Brewer are in charge of the food committee; Bob and Ruby Moss, Paul and Lucy Murphy are the auditing committee; Paul and Ruth Whyte and Don and Lucille Head are the calling committee. Lowell and Clara Mae Grimm and Marvin and Pat Critten are the committee to arrange for callers, and Paul and Lucy Murphy serve as the courtesy committee.
The Progressive Art and Study Club was organized October 29, 1929 in the old Garrison School, 209 Henry Street, by the late Mrs. Mildred W. Boone, who was at that time secretary of Missouri State Association of C.W.C.
The following women met and formed the organization. Mrs. Clementine Bland, Mrs. Marjorie (Banks) Brown, Mrs. Sadie Johnson, Miss Bessie Banks, Mrs. Blanche (Miles) Austin, Mrs. Helen Shields, Mrs. Lottie Montgomery, Mrs. Iva Williams, Mrs. Ruth Banks and Mrs. Kimpie Gibson.
June 30, 1939, the club became a member of the Central and National Federation Inc.
The purpose of the organization: To aid women in becoming more thoroughly acquainted with various kinds of work that properly come before them and within the scope of women’s club, namely: Charity, Education, Citizenship, Physical Development and Aiding others to advance. Club colors were blue and white, the flower was a pink carnation and the motto was “We live to serve”. Meetings are held bi-monthly and scheduled to study art, literature, music, history, home economics, family relationships and current happenings.
The first president in 1929 to 1931 was Mrs. Blanche (Miles) Austin. Following her were these presidents: Mrs. Marjorie (Banks) Brown, 1931-32; Miss Bessie Banks, 1933-1942; Mrs. Mae Lee, 1942-46; Mrs. Lucille Williams, 1946-48; Mrs. Pauline Anderson, 1948-49; Mrs. Effie Brown, 1949-50; Mrs. Eileen Price Scholls, 1950-53; Mrs. Iva Williams, 1953-54; Mrs. Marjorie Brown, 1954-56; Mrs. Catherine Rucker, 1956-60; Mrs. Darline Botts, 1960-62; Mrs. Mary Johnson, 1962-64; Mrs. Edna Shields, 1964-66; Mrs. Doris Steward, 1966-70; Mrs. Henrietta Johnson, 1970-72; Mrs. Eileen (Price) Scholls, 1972-75; Mrs. Linda (Steward) Dodd, 1975-78 and the president at the present time is Mrs. Elizabeth Thissen. She began her term in 1978.
A few of the outstanding programs and projects are assisting with Cancer and T.B. unit, making a yearly contribution to Ellis Fischell Hospital and to Kidney Foundation, sponsoring the Pilgrimage to Jefferson City, Mo. for a sophomore at Garrison School, sponsoring the Girls Busy Jewel Club, Temperance Union Department, Annual Club Breakfast, Founder’s Day, and having programs by outstanding artists, Mrs. Zenobia H. Wilson, Miss Lucille Bacote of Kansas City, Enos Stambaugh of Meadville, and Mrs. Harwell of Kansas City.
An anniversary skit was composed by the 17th President, the club purchased supplies for the art department at school, and purchased negro books. Negro books were given to the Public Library. The club has always aided those who suffered misfortunes, has entertained the District Association 16 times and the State Federation 6 times. The girls club furnished six state presidents, Mrs. Frances (Hilbert) Oliver, Mrs. Elizabeth (Bland) Reed, Mrs. Mary Ann (Botts) Dunlap, Miss Brenda Botts, Mrs. Linda (Steward) Dodd and Mrs. Karon Shields. Many of these girls furnished the adult clubs as guest speakers. Three charter members still living and affiliated with the organization are Mrs. Iva Brown, Mrs. Clementine Bland and Mrs. Marjorie Brown. Several members are serving as officers of the state and national organizations.
-- Eileen Price Scholls
The Queen of the South Chapter No. 18 O.E.S. sponsored by Golden Rule Lodge No. 77, was organized in 1898, in the old Garrison School on Henry street, by the late Joe E. Herriford who was a Mason of Lodge No. 77 and principal of Garrison School. The Chapter, composed of daughters, widows, wives, sisters and mothers of Masons, at the time of the organization was a member of the United Grand Chapter O.E.S. of Nebraska, Iowa and Missouri, but later years became a part of Harmony Grand Chapter, O.E.S. Missouri and Jurisdiction Inc. F and A.M.
Through these 82 years we have been able to keep up obligations in the Grand Body. We have had many officers in the state organization both elected and appointed.
To date the Queen of the South Chapter has eight members living in Chillicothe namely: Clementine Bland, Gold Star; Eileen Price Scholls, Lucille Williams, Catherine Rucker, Mary Johnson, Doris Golden, Alice Pettigrew, Linda Dodd and the following out of town members: Bernice Galloway, St. Joseph, Missouri; Carrie Neal, Triplett, Missouri; Edna Guthridge, Brookfield, Missouri; Maxine Allen Scholls, Citrus Height, California. The Worthy Patron is Carl Kerr.
The Rich Hill Homemakers Club of Rich Hill Township Livingston Co. Mo. was organized in Jan.
21, 1920 as a Red Cross Club. The twelve charter members were Mrs. A. C. Annin, pres.; Mrs. W. G. Mumpower, 1st vice-pres.; Mrs. J. V. Beazell, 2nd vice-pres.; Mrs. Raymond Ducey, secretary; Mrs. H. C. Brenneman, Mrs. Leonard Olenhouse, Mrs. H. J. Bauer, Mrs. W. B. Popham, Mrs. Floyd Cranmer, Mrs. Mel Holms, Miss Clarissa Walz and Mrs. Chris Brockman. The members meet twice a month at 2:30 P. M. on Thursday. The club dues were .50 per year. By 1921 there were 25 members.
In 1928, the Red Cross charter was taken away from the club so they organized as a Woman’s Extension club. It was organized for the purpose of promoting a greater interest in home making, community welfare and social activities both for children and family.
At a meeting with Mrs. W. B. Popham July 31, 1930, there was a much needed rain. The drought was broken.
On Dec. 12, 1930, in the home of Mrs. A. W. Bradford, the president, read an outline of the work for the year 1931 sent in by the Extension Dept. to the club members to follow if they keep the club up to standard. They received Standard Achievement Certificates from 1936 - 1963, the first under Eugene Lee, County Agent. Since the Club meets as a social club, meetings are held on the 2nd Wednesday of each month.
In Jan. 1922, Mr. Forrester, Co. Agent, called and asked the Club to elect members to represent the club in some work he would have in his office. Members elected were - Mrs. Mumpower - serving, Mrs. Ducey - furniture, Mrs. Mervin Jones - millinery, Mrs. Bradford, first aid.
On Jan. 10, 1953, the Homemakers Club celebrated its 25th Anniversary as an organization with a dinner at the Country Club. The dinner was prepared by the club members and the program consisted of introduction of guests, group singing, a reading by Annabell Metzner, short talks by Ruby Ice, Home Demonstration Agent and Robert B. Kaye, Co. Agent.
At the time only four Charter members were living, Mrs. Popham, Mrs. Cranmer, Mrs. Beazell and Mrs. Ducey. The first charter member Mrs. Mumpower passed away April 11, 1930.
A Certificate of Appreciation was presented to Rich Hill Extension Club for contributing Participation in the Citizenship Training Program Girls State, sponsored annually by the American Legion Auxiliary, Vern R. Glick Unit 25.
The club has contributed to Father Flanagan Home for Boys; Sponsored a 4-H Club; sent a first case of eggs to Mercy Hospital in 1943; contributed to Red Cross, Cancer Crusade, Salvation Army; had four good times each year including all the families; helped with projects requiring money by having food markets, serving sales and rummage sales; membership to 4-H and F. F. A. Fair.
Mrs. Cranmer is the only living charter member in 1980 of the Rich Hill Home Makers Club.
The Rotary Club of Chillicothe was admitted to membership in Rotary International on May 1st, 1920. The first officers of the local club were: PRESIDENT, Will Keath; Vice-President, Thurman Moreland; Secretary, Allen Moore 11; Treasurer, Will Ellett, Jr.; and Sergeant-at-Arms, Warren Roberts.
The object of Rotary, which is the oldest of the service clubs, is:
(1) The development of acquaintances as opportunity to serve.
(2) High ethical standards of business and progression.
(3) Application of the ideal of service by every Rotarian to his personal, Business, and community life.
(4) The advancement of international understanding, good will, and peace through a world fellowship of business and professional men united in the ideal of service.
During the decade of the 70’s the local Rotary Club made its primary contribution through support of, and contributions to, the Rotary International Foundation program. The two main areas in which the Foundation operates are: The granting of international fellowships for students at both the university and graduate level; and the exchange between countries of international study teams.
Through the local club, gifts to the Foundation of $1,000.00 each have been made honoring some of our outstanding local Rotarians. Those so honored are: Will Keath, Allen Moore, Ed Wolter, Ken Rinehart, Ralph Moore, and Robert A. Smith.
In 1974 a club member, William Lindblom served as Team Leader for the Missouri-Iowa Group Study Exchange Team to Australia.
On December 4, 1904, the state deputy organizer for Royal Neighbors of America came from Kansas City to Wheeling, Missouri for the purpose of organizing a camp, resulting in the following organization.
The first meetings were held in the hall of the Woodsmen’s lodge. The name was to be White Rose Camp No. 3968.
On December 21, 1904, the Royal Neighbors of America, Auxiliary of Modern Woodman, was issued the following charter:
“We come with neighborly greeting and do by these presents grant unto our beloved neighbors, here-in named, this charter, conferring upon them and their successors all the rights, powers and privileges of a duly organized camp of Royal Neighbors of America, and local camp shall be known as White Rose Camp No. 3968, and is located in Wheeling, Missouri.”
Regular meetings are still held each month by the camp.
The Sturges Community club started doing extension type work in 1910, at that time they were the Domestic Science Club and club minutes show programs were arranged from month to month, by a committee appointed by the president. Typical subjects were: “Arbor Day and its Significance”; “Turkey Raising”, “The House, Its Plans, Decoration and Care.”
Some of the members since 1910 were Mrs. C. B. Williams, Mrs. Raymond Russell, Mrs. C. C. Gordon, Mrs. Florence Beal, Mrs. Stella Kriner, Mrs. Ola Bowman, Mrs. Frank Kriner, Mrs. Tom Wilhite, Mrs. Fern Pennington.
In October, 1917, the club organized a Red Cross unit of the Livingston County Chapter and spent two years doing war work. In the fall of 1919, with the war over, they organized as Sturges Community Club with Mrs. Lilly Patterson as the first president. They continued to arrange programs from month to month, had an ice cream supper for the families in summer and an oyster supper in the winter.
Mrs. Nellie Thompson was the second president of the club and she was followed by Mrs. Raymond Russell, who remained its president until 1951 when Mrs. L. F. McWhirter was elected. The club earned the Standard of Achievement Certificate for many years and has taken part in all programs sponsored by the extension club. At one time the club sponsored the Rich-Ridge 4-H Club and assisted them with their fund raising projects.
The club donated to local drives, CampbellHarrison Fund, Student Loan Fund, and 4-H Council.
Only one of the Charter members of the club is still living, Mrs. Stella Kriner. Present day officers are: Ada Tolle, president; Cora Moore, vice-president; Geneva Goucher, secretary and LaVee Barnes, treasurer.
The National Society of Colonial Dames XVII Century was organized in July 1915 during the meeting of the International Genealogical Congress at the Panama Exposition to aid in the establishment of a College of Heraldry, the founding of chairs of Historical Research in Colleges and Universities and to commemorate the heroic deeds of the founders of our great Republic, in order that men and women may be inspired to follow their example.
The Virginia Dare chapter of Colonial Dames XVII Century held a Charter Signing meeting at the Carriage House Inn, Strand Hotel on August 10, 1979, on the anniversary of its organization. Mrs. E. L. Lay, organizing secretary, was the first president of the chapter.
Charter members are: Mrs. Lawrence F. Arthaud, Mrs. Earl C. Aurwarter, Mrs. George M. Baggott, Mrs. Edgar B. Barnert, Mrs. Marjorie Erickson, Mrs. Maurine Fields, Mrs. Donald Floyd, Mrs. James Girard, Mrs. Howard Haas, Miss Mary Hawkins, Mrs. John Jones, Mrs. E. L. Lay, Mrs. John Lewis, Mrs. Kenneth Lovelady, Mrs. Ruth McWilliams, Mrs. Phillip Middleton, Mrs. Lee Meek, Miss Virginia Page, Mrs. Maude Pearce, Miss Celia Rosenwald, Mrs. E. C. Rosenwald, Mrs. Earl M. Sallee, Mrs. Bob Staton, Miss Grace Stone, Mrs. Richard Sperry and Mrs. Claude Walker.
Mrs. LeRoy Lewis, State Organizing Secretary, presented the Virginia Dare chapter members their charter on October 27, 1979, at the Fall Conference of the Missouri Society of Colonial Dames XVII Century, held in Higginsville.
The Missouri Society, Colonial Dames XVII Century, has three active chapters, Kansas City chapter; Mary Chilton Winslow chapter, Marshall and Virginia Dare Chapter, Chillicothe. Mrs. Claude Walker has been honored by the State Society, serving as 1st vice-president, 1975-76; treasurer, 1977-78 and president, 1979-1980.
Any American woman of good moral character, eighteen years of age or over, is eligible to membership, provided she is acceptable to the Society and is the lineal descendant of an ancestor who lived in one of the eleven British Colonies in the Continental United States of America prior to 1701 as an immigrant colonist or a descendant of one.
The Coterie Extension Club of Wheeling, Missouri was organized September 21, 1937, and is still active today making this organization 43 years of age this September. The first meeting was held in the home of Mrs. Chris Love with twelve members. Miss Margaret McClellan, Home Demonstration Agent for Livingston County, was present to aid with the organization. In Extension Club work women work together to make better homes and community life. Education from extension work is made up of Home Management, Nutrition, Health and Child Care, Gardening, Flower Growing and Safety. Other topics have been taken up through the years. Mrs. Alfred Love was elected the first president to serve this organization. The word “Coterie” was selected for the name of the club. Its meaning “a set” or “company”. Motto selected was “Aim High And Strive To Reach The Goal”. Club colors are green and gold. By-laws and duties were set to help members to make themselves a group to help others. Those first members were: Mrs. Jack Whitaker, Miss Mary Pahmeyer, Mrs. Chris Love, Miss Olive Whitaker (Mrs. Harold Miller), Miss Lizzie Pahmeyer, Mrs. Alfred Love, Mrs. E. M. Norman, Mrs. Ira Hulburt, Mrs. Fred Lowe, Mrs. John Hayen, Mrs. Ed Pahmeyer and Mrs. J. H. Achenbach. Two visitors at that first meeting were Mrs. Jack Love and Mrs. Frank Smiley, Jr. Mrs. Mont Warren (Mrs. Herman Braun) attended the second meeting and was appointed Child Development Leader.
Throughout the years this club has been a loyal club to its community, to one another and their families. Members have served as 4-H Leaders, on Wheeling Election Boards, Community Projects, Sunday School teachers, officers on Livingston County Extension Council, Church officers, Parent Teacher Organizations, Hospital Auxiliary and many other projects that served a need in any way.
They have made money to aid in Cancer Drive, Heart Fund, Mercy Hospital, Peter Pan, Red Cross, 4-H and FFA Fair Memberships and assisted with many other projects throughout the years. Lap robes, cancer capes, bandages, cancer tote bags, quilts and many other items were made. These are things they enjoyed working on together and were given to help someone else.
A Coterie Extension Club float has been present for many years in the annual Wheeling Homecoming parades.
Today, members of Coterie Club are still active in learning, and doing and helping others. They have a membership of eleven and Mrs. Harold Warren is serving as their president. Members are: Mrs. Herman Braun, Mrs. Winston Buckner, Mrs. Marjory Canning, Mrs. Ralph Head, Mrs. Anna M. Howe, Mrs. Lloyd Howe, Mrs. Herb Jones, Mrs. Dovie Melte, Mrs. Ross Rader and Mrs. Harold Warren.
Mrs. Alfred Love, charter Member, passed away April 1980.
On April 5, 1933, a small group of women met in Wheeling to organize a club for farm women. The name chosen was “Wheeling Get Together”. Their slogan, “if it’s good, pass it on”. Meetings were to be held the second Wednesday of each month.
In 1947, through the efforts of some of these women, the first Wayside lunch table between Macon and Hamilton was erected by the Highway Department, at the foot of Packers Hill. This table was chained and padlocked to a tree for protection. It remained in use until 1966 when the State Highway destroyed the tree and the table when the new highway was built.
There are no charter members living now, but the club still meets each month on the second Wednesday. It is no longer a farm womens club. At the present time there are eighteen members who still try to live up to the slogan selected by the women who chose it at its organization.
In October, 1934, a group of women in the Blue Mound community met in the home of the late Mrs. J. M. Hoyt, to organize an extension club. Mrs. A. J. Saunders, the only woman present with previous experience in extension work, was appointed chairman. Eighteen women from a three square mile area became members. The name chosen was the BLUE Mound Homemakers Club and Mrs. A. J. Saunders was the first president. Mrs. Rex Brown is the only charter member still living.
Many of the members moved away and when the women of the Vaughn School community expressed a desire to join the club, they migrated east and held meetings in the Vaughn school house for a time. Because of the two communities involved, the club name was changed. Mrs. Homer Wheeler suggested Women of Wisdom, which was unanimously adopted. The name was shortened to W.O.W. Extension Club. In 1971, it was voted to discontinue the extension work and be a social club. One of the highlights of the club was in the middle 1950’s when a style review was given, and the husbands dressed as women. A mock wedding, and “The Old Family Album” were also presented. All proceeds went to the Heart Fund.
-- Mrs. Rex Brown, President
In the spring of 1893 nineteen women met to organize a study club. Article I of their constitution read “For intellectual, cultural and general improvement.”
Since nineteen women were present, they chose the name XIX Club. Over the years the active members have increased to 25. Six associate members and eight life members.
The original dues were 500 and if not paid by January, the secretary read the list of delinquent members and they were suspended. The club became federated in 1903.
The members took their studies seriously and maintained a reference library which they dispensed with strict rules and fines. Papers were prepared and read on Shakespeare, Browning, Wagner, America Opera, Greek and Roman mythology, Current Events, and Parliamentary Law. Each member was to be prepared on the subject to participate in the discussion.
In close cooperation with other clubs in the city, Federated XIX Club helped with visiting nurse program and established a city library which in recent years has become the Livingston County Library. XIX Club for almost 90 years continues to carry out the programs of the General Federation of Women’s clubs and works for the betterment of the local community.